adwords training social media forum 2010
TRANSCRIPT
WorkshopNovember 28, 2010
Elias Dabbas
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A bit about me…
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• Search and Search Partners• Content (Display Network)
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Search and Search Partners
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Search Partners
• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by
Google5
• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site
• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…
Content (Display) Network
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Content (Display) Network
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Types of Ads
TextImageDisplay Ad BuilderVideoMobile (web)Mobile (call)
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Text Ads
• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters
– Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same
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Image Ads
Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper
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Display Ad Builder
• Customize your own ad online13
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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes15
Video Ads (Click to Play)
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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones
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Wap Text Ads
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WAP Image Ads
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Account Structure
CampaignsAd groupsAds Keywords Destination URLsBids
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AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Unbeatable Prices from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza
Bids
Destination URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
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Account
• One Google account• Accessible / manageable by several accounts• Different access levels
– Admin– Standard– Read Only – Email Only
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Campaign (Settings)
• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function– Language– Network(s)– Geography– Daily Budget– Device– Scheduling
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Language Targeting
Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses
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Geographical Targeting
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Time of the Day / Day of the Week
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Campaign Best Practices
• Use a consistent naming convention– Make sure campaign name includes as many
useful parameters as possibleE.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display
• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles
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Ad Groups
• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords
Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers
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Ad Group Best Practices
• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible
• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing
page(s) for each ad group
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Ads
Ads relevant to specific keywords
Each ad group should be focused on a topic
Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
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AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Unbeatable Prices from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza
Bids
Destination URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
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Keyword Research
Keyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)
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Keyword Tool
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Market Shares
Quizz:
Which is the most searched car on Google?
BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Ferrari, Porsche
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Enter each keyword and analyze results
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Car Brand Market Shares
Car Brand Queries / Month Market ShareBMW 9,140,000 40.7%Toyota 5,000,000 22.3%Mercedes 3,350,000 14.9%Ferrari 2,740,000 12.2%Porsche 2,240,000 10.0% 22,470,000 100.0%
41%
22%
15%
12%10%
BMW
Toyota
Mercedes
Ferrari
Porsche
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Keyword Match Types
Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop,
Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee
beans
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Keyword Match Types
Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string
of characters is searched for
Negative: -capuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you
don’t have
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• Shows relative popularity in countries and cities
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Competition – Organic (Natural)
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Competition – Paid(AdWords)
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Sponsored Links
Who am I competing with?How many competitors are there? How tough is the competition? Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? Use the preview tool
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AdWords Preview Tool
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Conversion Tracking and The Campaign Life Cycle
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What do I want my users to
DO?
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Conversion
Any task (action) you want users to complete when they come to your website
Purchase Upload a video
Upload a photo
Request a quote
Submit question
Refer a friend
Register
Submit Form
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Ad Landing Page + Funnel Thankyou Page
Step 1
Step 2
Step 3
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How Conversion Tracking Works
• Click ID includes information about campaign, keyword, ad group, ad text, etc…
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Conversion Code on Thankyou Page
• Users can only access the thankyou page if and only if they complete a specific action
• Number of visits to that page are considered conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25
1,000,000 impressions
20,000 clicks
400conversions
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Other Tools
• AdWords Editor• Google Analytics• Google Website Optimizer
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AdWords Editor
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Dashboard• Compilation of the site-wide traffic
data• Highly customizable• Should include the 6-8 main KPIs
you are tracking on a daily basis
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Visitors• Who came to my site? • Which countries did they come from? • How many times do they visit me per month? • How long do they stay on the site? • How many are unique? • What kinds of computers do they have?
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Traffic Sources• What medium is my traffic coming from?
Search engines, direct, referring sites, etc…
• What specific medium is my traffic coming from?Search engines: keywords, search enginesReferring site: exact URLs
• How effective is each source in achieving my goals?
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Content• Which pages did they view?
• Which content is the most popular?
• Which sections are working well?
• Are people searching on my site?
• Example: How popular is article #456245?
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Tracking Goals• Actions that you want people to complete on your site (conversions)
• Tracking goals indicates how good you are at satisfying customers, and how interesting they find your site
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Intelligence• New feature showing abnormal changes in numbers
• Guides you to hidden changes
• Alerts you to potential problems before they explode
• Alerts you to good news so you can build on it
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eCommerce Tracking• Special setup, helps give context to your sales figures, products, revenue,
conversion rate, etc…
• Helps you answer important questions Which traffic source is more likely to generate sales? How many days does it take a user to buy? Which keywords are more likely to generate bigger orders?
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Summary
• Search and Search Partners• Content (Display Network)
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Types of Ads
TextImageDisplay Ad BuilderVideoMobile (web)Mobile (call)
75
AdWords Account StructureWebsite1.com
Restaurants
Order Online
Great Deals from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Unbeatable Prices from
great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders
Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza
Bids
Destination URLs
Information
Concerts
Rock Concerts
Account
Campaigns
Ad Groups
Ads & Keywords
76
Keyword Tool
77
Ad Langing Page + Funnel Thankyou Page
Step 1
Step 2
Step 3
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Tools
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