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CONVERTING TRAFFIC INTO YOUR CUSTOMERS
Native Push Notifications:A Guide to EffectiveAdvertising
WEBINAR, MAY 22, 2018
DENNIS POPIVODA Business Development Director
Dennis is a sales pro, who knows how you can get the product in front of the right audience. What’s even better, Dennis enjoys sharing his knowledge and can teach you how to succeed in online advertising.
ANDREY VESELOV Business Development Manager
Andrey is a digital advertising expert with more than 4 years of experience working in advertising and marketing. Andrey knows every little advertising trick and can get the most out of each campaign.
1. Native Push Notifications: What’s that and how is it different from App Push Notifications?
2. What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?
3. Top performing verticals for Push Notifications Marketing
4. How to launch a Push Notification Campaign?
5. Walkthrough: Our Hands-on Guide
6. How to optimize Push Notification Campaign?
7. Creatives: Dos and Don’ts
8. Tricks of the Trade
Q&A Session
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
AGENDA
1PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Native Push Notifications: What’s that and how is it different from app Push Notifications?
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Native Push Notifications: What are they? 1
Native Push Notifications are short messages with an icon that appear in your client’s browser on the desktop or mobile device.
Your creative space:● Title (30 characters)● Description (40 characters)● Icon (192x192px)● Banner Image (360x240 px or higher
resolution for Retina display)
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Native Push Notification: How it looks?1
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How are they different from App Push Notifications?1
App Push Notifications
● App push notifications are sent straight from an app (so you must have an app)
● Mobile users only
● Your audience can consist only from the users, who have installed your app
Native Push Notifications (Service)
● You should only have a website
● You don’t have to build your own audience (PropellerAds Push Notifications audience is 60+ M users)
● You can target the audiences
VS
2PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?2
It's Native!● Appears in your customer's personal feed
(Alongside with, for example, Facebook, weather, and email notifications)
● Completely non-intrusive (Respectful to user experience)
● Users are not disturbed because the number of notifications sent a day is limited.
Real traffic ● Users have to agree to receive Push
Notifications («Bots» cannot subscribe and engage with notification’s content)
● Users are genuinely interested in receiving the content (Users can unsubscribe anytime they like)
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?2
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?2
Maximum Viewability & High CTR
A user receives Push Notifications even when he is not browsing
HIGHER VIEWABILITY
User finds ads in his personal feed
HIGH CTR
● Users are spending lots of time, interacting with their devices. Ads are coming directly to these devices, meaning that users engage with Push Notifications more often.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
What Makes Push Notifications an Ideal Ad Format?2
Compliant with Google's Policy and Better Ads Standard
● Push Notifications are not blocked by most of the popular Ad Blockers
● Considered to be a user-friendly ad format
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
How do we collect subscribers?
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How Do We Collect Subscribers?2
1. Users visit the website with the content they enjoy
2. Users are suggested to subscribe to Push Notifications (Opt-in request)
3. Users click «Allow» and subscribe to notifications
4. Users start receiving notifications from our advertisers
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How Do We Collect The Subscribers?2
This is how a standard opt-in request looks like:
DESKTOP MOBILE
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Top verticals for Push Notifications
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
3
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Top Verticals for Push Notifications3
STELLAR RESULTS: RISING:
● Betting
● Binary
● Crypto
● Sweepstakes
● eCommerce
● Nutrition
● Entertainment
● Cash on Demand (CoD)
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
How to launch a Push Notification campaign?
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
4
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
Define your budget according to your CPA goals*
High CPA Goal(i.e. deposits $250+)
Testing budget should be at least 1.5x higher than the payout on the testing phase
CPA Goal ($250) x 1,5 = $375
Low CPA Goal(i.e. leads $5+)
Testing budget should be at least 3x higher than the payout
CPA Goal ($5) x 3 = $15
* for affiliates, CPA Goal is an offer payout
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
Choose the GEOs you are targeting:
1 GEO 1 Ad Campaign
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
Device Targeting: Buying Desktop & Mobile?
Always split your campaigns according to the platform, because Desktop and Mobile have different Conversion Rates.
Target Audience
Ad Campaign Desktop
Ad Campaign Mobile
Multiple sets of creatives
● Users shouldn't get bored with your creatives - prepare multiple sets for rotation: icons, headlines, descriptions, banner images + LPs
Change creatives weekly or bi-weekly (depends on your campaign frequency settings)
● Speak the audience's language (For example, don't target Chinese market with Spanish creatives)
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
!
A/B Test creatives
● A/B testing is the best way to figure out what kind of content is performing the best way for your target audience
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How Your Campaign Should Look like?4
Target Audience
GEO 1 GEO 2
GEO 1Desktop
GEO 1Mobile
CampaignGEO1DesktopCreative 1
CampaignGEO1DesktopCreative 2
CampaignGEO1MobileCreative 1
CampaignGEO1MobileCreative 2
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
Keep an eye on the policy
● Focus on the quality, we do not welcome misleading ads
● Misleading ads don't work with Push Notifications
● Certain things are still allowed on OnClick campaigns
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
What is not allowed to promote with Push Notifications?
● Sexual wellness products
● Software or applications with automatic dialing of phone numbers and phone calling.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
What kind of messages you cannot use?
1. Scary and/or offensive messages
Unacceptable: «Are you fat? Lose weight!»
2. Sexually provocativeor suggestive texts
Unacceptable:«Hot girls! Click to meet them»
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
What kind of messages you cannot use?
3. The use of the words «Google», «virus», «malware», «threat» and similar ones is not permitted in any context related to the risk of data loss or a security breach.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
What kind of messages you cannot use?
4. Sweepstakes scams. You can offer a chance to win something, but you can't guarantee it.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Push Notification Campaign: Before You Start4
What kind of messages you cannot use?
5. The use of celebrities or politicians' names to promote a product.Unacceptable: «Secret diet of {NameSurname} is revealed!»
Please check out our policy for more details! !
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Bidding Models: Push Notifications
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Bidding Models: Push Notifications4
There are 2 pricing models available for this format:
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Min. bid $0.01
Cost Per Mille (CPM)
Min. bid $0.1
We recommend testing both models to figure out the best RPM for your particular product. !
CPC Model
● Allows you to set the amount that you could pay for each click on your ads.
● CPC is a way to pay only for users, who are interested in the promoted content, however, volumes here depend on CTR and CPC price.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Bidding Models: What to Select?4
If your ads don’t drive sufficient number of clicks - they would quickly be sidelined, and stop receiving impressions.
!
CPM Model
● CPM is a bidding strategy with easily predictable volumes of traffic that you are going to receive.
● Perfect for building brand awareness
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Bidding Models: What to Select?4
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Walkthrough: Case Studies
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
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PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Choose CPA Offer5
How to promote financial offer from affiliate program KingFin.com
Why KingFin:
● High payouts by the revshare model within 3 days
● A lot of promo materials: landing pages, videos, reviews
● Accepts traffic from Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa, Russia and CIS countries.
Register an accountThe case study and promo materials are kindly provided by one of affiliate marketers.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Campaign’s Basics5
● Product: Finance / Binary Options
● GEO: Philippines (cheap traffic, most people speak English = easy to create a promo) **
● Bidding Model: CPC
● Rate: $0.01 per click
We strongly recommend starting from Tier-2 or Tier-3 countries, because there’s less competition and traffic costs are lower.
!
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Adding Basic Information5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Choosing GEO Targeting & Bid5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Setting Targeting by Platform5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Uploading Creatives for Ads5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Creatives − Pre-lander5
Pre-lander is not obligatory, but quality content may seriously improve your conversion rate.
● Use «storytelling» (works best for native ads)
● Explain how to use the product / service
● Provide customers with some tips or reviews
● Write using native language of your audience
● Make sure that your pre-lander is allowed by affiliate program terms!
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Creatives − Landing Page5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #1: Statistics & Optimization5
Campaign performance (after 7 days):
● Clicks: 16588
● CTR: 0.4832%
● Cost: $164.26
● Registrations: 224
Some zones that brought few conversions can be excluded
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Campaign’s Basics5
● CPA Network: AdCombo
● Vertical: Nutrition
● Product: Ecoslim
● GEO: Malaysia [MY]
● Bidding Model: CPC
● Rate: $0.01 per click
! We strongly recommend starting from Tier-2 or Tier-3 countries, because there’s less competition and traffic costs are lower.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Creatives − Landing Page5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Uploading Creatives for Ads5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Choosing GEO Targeting & Bid5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Setting Targeting by Platform5
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Case Study #2: Statistics & Optimization5
Campaign performance (after 3 days):
● Clicks: 4744
● CTR: 1.1861%
● Cost: $47.44
● Conversions: 16
● Payout: $160
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
How to Optimize Your Push Notification Campaign?
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
6
Pay attention to statistics
Always check and save your numbers (clicks & impressions) before starting the optimization process.
This way, you can create your own performance benchmarks and compare the outcomes later.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How to Optimize Your Campaign?6
Adjust your targeting
● Disable campaigns, targeted at non-converting GEOs
That’s why we were saying it’s important to set only 1 GEO for each campaign.
● Check your targeting and bidding model before excluding zones
Zones don’t play such a huge role for Push Notificationcampaigns as a user is contacting ad units on his device, rather than on a website.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How to Optimize Your Campaign?6
Change your CPC bid
● Increase or decrease your CPC bid to get more traffic or improve your ROI
● Don’t forget to use traffic estimator
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
How to Optimize Your Campaign?6
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Creatives: Dos and Don’ts
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
7
● Following this rule will allow you to better track the performance and compare the results with your previous campaigns.
● Create your own images and texts. Be unique!
New Creative
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Creatives: Dos and Don’ts7
New Campaign
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Creatives: Dos and Don’ts7
● While misleading ads do have higher CTR, they can’t boast good Conversion Rate (important when you use CPC model)
● You can’t expect quality leads
● You might have trust issues with your customers
Misleading Ads
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Creatives: Dos and Don’ts7
● It’s all about frequency. Don’t bore your audience by sending the same message over and over again.
We recommend sending the same creative not more than 3 times in 2 days.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Tools for Productive Campaigns
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Tools for Productive Campaigns7
● You can identify high CTR headlines of paid ads
● Find products similar to yours and check their promo materials
● Use these insights to make your own creatives
● Identify converting native ad copy and landing pages
● Check what campaigns your competitors are running
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR
Tricks of the Trade
NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
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PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Tricks of the Trade8
Event Targeting
● Try creating targeted messages and test various daytime capping.
● Don’t forget about event-targeting: popular holidays and festivals (celebrated by the target audience), sporting events, «big sales» like Black Friday.
Examples: «It's cold again in NY. Stay home and play this game»«Food delivery in lunch time»«Back to School SALE - 50% off!»«2 days left before Match of the Year!»
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Tricks of the Trade8
Place your CTA on the banner Image
● Unlike Facebook, we do allow to place sufficient amount of text on the banner. It’s a great place for CTA.
PROPELLERADS I WEBINAR NATIVE PUSH NOTIFICATIONS: A GUIDE TO EFFECTIVE ADVERTISING
Tricks of the Trade8
Don’t use pre-landers for every product
● Don’t make the marketing funnel too long
● Take advantage of this direct ad format
For example, Mobile apps are converting better if you send traffic directly to the install page
Push Notification
Landing Page
CONVERTING TRAFFIC INTO YOUR CUSTOMERS
Thank youfor attending!
WEBINAR, MAY 22, 2018
CONVERTING TRAFFIC INTO YOUR CUSTOMERS
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