buzzsumo content marketing masterclass - roi

Post on 08-Jan-2017

2.880 Views

Category:

Marketing

0 Downloads

Preview:

Click to see full reader

TRANSCRIPT

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing Master Class

Return on Investment#ContentROI

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI

Steve RaysonDirector, BuzzSumo@steverayson

Your host

Expert speakerMichael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Content FormulaCalculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again

Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an

impact!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016

CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI.

Marketers claim measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge

93%~AdAge

81%~CMI / MProfs

Marketing Has A Marketing Problem

What is the ROI?

@BrennerMichael @LizBedor

The First Banner Ad (1994)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Less likely to click on a banner than…

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick) .06%

10% Banner ad clicks by Bots(comScore)

50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental(GoldSpot)

What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael

#BMA16

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

“CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing

that doesn’t deliver results!”~Gabe Leydon,

CEO, Machine Zone

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in

and be what people are interested

in!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.

The median shares for B2B sites is 106 shares and for 1M random sites is 8 shares!!!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The buyer journey is nothing more than a series of

questions that must be answered.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleYour

Customers Middle

Early What is / are?Why important

LateWho?How much?Where? 1

StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index

100

How to? 10

Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top

questions

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

WARNING!

Math ahead!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing programs

are assets with real value that grows over time.

Need proof . . .

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150

100

200

300

400

500

600

-

100,000

200,000

300,000

400,000

500,000

600,000

COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING

# A

rtic

les

Page

view

s

________ Leads

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

Return

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

(Revenue – Investment)

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment

(Revenue – Investment)

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =

With Less

Do MoreWhat is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =

With Less

Do The Same

What is ROI?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.

*Sirius Decisions

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Used30%

Content Not Used70%

Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*

* Source: Econsultancy = $

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

We need to push back

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Art of Pushing Back

Why does this matter?

What is the impact?

How will it be measured?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing Requires Empathy

ContentMarketing

What Brands Publish

WhatCustomers

Want

Business Instinct CharityEmpathy

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

How do you explain the importance of

empathy to executives who don’t have any?

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Show me the money!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The #1 Way To ImproveMarketing ROI . . .

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low to High

=$

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Reach early stage buyers

Engage new buyers with your

brand

Conversions you would have never

reached

= $

Build The Business Case For Change

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?

=$

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content Marketing Manager, CapGemini “We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

30%70%

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CapGemini: Content-Loop.com

~1M visitors in 1st year+ 3K new followers / week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales = ROI

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Reach

The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Reach

The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $1 Million

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines

national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.

• Up to 6 new posts per day

• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+

Casper’s Van Winkles

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert

than non-subscribers

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

$10 Million / 400,000 = $25

10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Product vs. Category Searches”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

SAP Website: Talking To Themselves

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Math Didn’t Help

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

The Power of Fear

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We show up first in Google

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

BUT: SAP had no budget

Engagement?99% Bounce Rate

How Much COST?$200,000

Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO

Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

SAP Digitalist Magazine

To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.

Engagement?70%

How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget

Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%

Conversions?~1,000 in year 1

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =

(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000

($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Unbranded Search Traf -fic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The ROI of Content Marketing

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to

acquire a new one.A 5% increase in retention

= 95% increase in ROI.

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleContent Marketing

ROI:Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal.

Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Content Marketing ROI - RetentionThe Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$

Retention Rate $$$

Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers

vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an

impact!

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula

CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle style

Thank you!Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

top related