conversion matters: getting started with cro

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If you care about a great return on your investment and giving your users what they want quickly, then you should care about conversion rate optimization (CRO). Maybe you already do, you just don’t know how to get started. Never fear, PPC Hero is here! In the webinar recording, our experts discuss how you can get started in CRO, what tools you should be using, how to do an initial analysis, factors of good landing pages, how to test, and more! By the end, you should have what you need to get started on your own. Hanapin’s CRO experts, Sam Owen and Roopa Carpenter, do a great introduction into the world of conversation rate optimization. You’ll get expert-level PPC tips like: *How to get started on an initial analysis *Best tools to use for CRO *Testing and measuring the right things

TRANSCRIPT

#thinkppc

How to Recover from the Holidays Faster Than Your Competition

Conversion Matters: Getting Started With CRO

HOSTED BY:

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Presenters

• Sam Owen– Associate Director of Paid Search, CRO at

Hanapin Marketing

– Blogger on PPC Hero

– @SamOwenPPC

Roopa Carpenter

– Account Manager, CRO at Hanapin Marketing

– Hero Conf Conversion Summit Speaker

– @RoopaCarpenter

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Join the conversation

• Include the hashtag #thinkppc in your Twitter tweets.• Or use the webinar question box to send us questions.

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Live Poll Question #1

How long have you been in PPC?#thinkppc

A. Less than 1 yearB. 1-3 yearsC. 3-5 yearsD. 5+ years

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Live Poll Question #2

How do you manage your account(s)?#thinkppc

a) I manage it myself.b) I’m part of a team that manages it.c) I outsource my account management.d) I’m rethinking how my account is managed.

#thinkppc

CRO – What is it?Conversion Rate Optimization • A structured approach to improving the

performance of your site• Defined by your sites key performance

indicators (ex. purchase, download newsletters)

• Utilizing analytics and user feedback to make informed decisions

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CRO – What is it NOT?

• Trying things based on guess or a hunch.

• Getting the most clicks regardless of quality

Conversion Rate Optimization is NOT:

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Why do CRO? I’m a PPC person!

1 Conv. = # of Clicks Per Conv. Conv. Rate

Example: If your conversions rate is 2.5%, Goal CPA is $20,

then your Max CPC is $0.50If your conversion rate is 5%, Goal CPA is $20, then your Max CPC is $1.00

Goal CPA = Max CPC for that Conv. # of Click Per Conv.

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What Makes A Good Landing Page?

Value PropositionUrgency

AnxietyConfusion

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What Makes A Good Landing Page?

Value PropositionUrgency

AnxietyConfusion

AKA: Tell me what you do, why I should care right now, why I should believe you and what I’m going to get out of it…

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6 Principles of Influence

1. Reciprocity2. Commitment (&

Consistency)3. Social Proof4. Liking5. Authority6. Scarcity

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Aligning PPC & CRO

The biggest mistake in PPC is bad landing page alignment…

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Aligning PPC & CRO

A great PPC experience should be really easy:

1. Type in my search term2. See an ad about that term

3. Get to a landing page about my search term

Simple…

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Aligning PPC & CRO

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Aligning PPC & CRO

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Aligning PPC & CRO

NOT A SAMSUNG TV IN SIGHT!

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Aligning PPC & CRO

Search Term Ad Copy Landing Page

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ATTENTION!

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Remove All Distractions

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ATTENTION!

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ATTENTION!

Help Me Find You

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Give Me What I Need To Know

http://conversionsciences.com/

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Give Me What I Need To Know

That’s a long old page

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Give Me What I Need To Know

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Give Me What I Need To Know

Don’t tease me Flo, we both know what I want!

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Give Me What I Need To Know

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SWOT Analysis

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Google Analytics

• Are customers doing lots of research? • How many are bouncing instantly? • What are our demographics?• Where are users arriving from? • What percentage are new vs. returning?• Which pages are most popular?

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GA Funnels

Where Are We Losing Customers?

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Heat & Scroll Maps

Is your call to action in a place where 100% of people will see it?

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Customer Feedback

The best way to find out what your landing page is missing is to ask your customers

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Customer Feedback

Step 1: Learn common objections / problems

Step 2: Answer them early on your landing page (boo anxiety!)

Step 3: Profit!

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Come Up With Hypotheses

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Okay, I Want to Test… But Where do I Start?

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Many Tools Available for CRO Testing

There are many tools out there for CRO testing. The keyis to find one(s) that work for you:

1. Google Analytics

• Utilize In-Page Analytics to identify where users are spending time on particular pages of your website.

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LP Tests Within AnalyticsRun Landing Page Tests within Analytics: • This is an option if you want to test sending users to a different url from the one

currently used (ex. category page vs. home page, short form vs. long form)

• Set up is easy: Reporting tab Behavior Experiment Create Experiment

• Ensure Analytics code is on the new url you are testing.

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Many Tools Available for CRO Testing

2. CrazyEgg

• Assists in creating a well thought out experiment• Provides insight on user behavior (allows you to segment)

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Optimizely: A/B Testing for Landing Pages

3. Optimizely: • Great for A/B Testing• Depending on the plan you choose, you can do multipage testing and multivariate

testing• This is a good option, when your site does not require a complete redo

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Unbounce: When LP’s Need More Work

4. Unbounce: • Great for LP testing beyond minor changes

• You can start from scratch or use one of their landing page templates

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Wireframes

5. Creating Wireframes for Client• If you’re working for a client that is able to implement the

changes you want without using Optimizely, then you may want to create a wireframe

• Check out the following resources:

• Wix.com• Balsamiq.com• Mockflow.com

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So What Should I Start Testing?

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What You Test is Specific to Your Account General Features to Test for Lead Generation• Form (getting rid of unnecessary fields) or changing

it from two columns into one• Color/Size of the button• CTA of the button (align with user expectations)• Location of the form and CTA (is it above the fold)• Headlines (be specific and align with user

expectations)• Images (be wary of people)• Use of arrows

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What You Test is Specific to Your Account

General Features to Test for Ecommerce• Layout of products on product results page• Highlighting products on sale (ex. save $10.00 vs. save)• Add trustmarkers to the checkout process• Remove ability to navigate away during the checkout

process• Have “add to cart” button for each product on product

results page• Highlight “free shipping” (if applicable)• Create urgency to complete order (ex. order in the next

3 hr 2 min to have your product shipped today)

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What Works for One Account May Not Work Across the Board

Example: Remove button navigating away from application page.

Result: 7.7% increase in conversion rate

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Measuring Results

• It’s specific to your KPIs

• Leads: Form filled, downloaded an ebook, live chat, called a phone number

• Ecommerce: Transactions, Revenue

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When to Call a Test • Tests are generally not conclusive if you only have a few

conversions

• General rule of thumb is 25 conversions each

• After a test has enough conversions, we analyze conversions rates to see if there is a significant improvement and if so, we declare the test page as the winner.

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Special Offer!

Would you like a discount to Hero Conf Conversion Summit?

o Yes!o No Thanks

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Live Q&A Time!

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Have more questions?

Thank you for attending our webinar! #thinkppc

• Get a FREE Account Analysis from Hanapin Marketing (for accounts greater than $20K/mo in adspend): http://www.hanapinmarketing.com/account-analysis/

• Or Contact us Directly:• Webinar Feedback: marketing@hanapinmarketing.com

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