your guide to online advertising

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A presentation to the Regina Chamber of Commerce B2B event. October 2013. Digital Media Strategist Rachel Giatras walks through the different online media options for small business and explains how and where to use online media effectively.

TRANSCRIPT

Your Guide to Online Advertising

1. Canadian Online Landscape

2. Formats

3. Buying Exchanges

4. Targeting

5. Paid Search

6. Online Video

7. Paid Social Media

8. Cross-Platform: Devices

9. Google Analytics

10.Real-time Bidding

+33 hrs/month

Cost-per …Huh?

Buying FormatsCost per Thousand Impressions (CPM):

How much you will pay per thousand impressions of your ad.

1,000 = $20

Buying Formats

Cost per Click (CPC):

A CPC is how much you will pay ever time your ad is clicked.

$3 x 100 clicks = $300

Buying Formats

Cost per Engagement (CPE):

A CPE is how much you will pay when a designated engagement occurs.

$8 per roll over x 100 = $800

Buying Formats

Cost per Acquisition (CPA):

A CPA is how much you will pay when a designated action is performed.

$12 per contact x 100 = $1,200

Do I need the middleman?

Direct Publisher Buying

Direct Publisher Buying

• ROS – Run of Site: All categories

• Categorical – Ex: Sports Only

• CPM buying format

• The broader the buy, the less the CPM

• ROS – CPM: $12• Sports Only – CPM: $12 + 25%

premium = %15

EX: “Referendum” – Direct Buy

Niche Network Buying

• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network• CPM Buying format

Mass Network Buying

Mass Network Buying• RON – Run of Network: All sites within their network

• ACTION RATES: CPC, CPE, and CPA buying formats • Enough impressions across sites to fulfill clicks• Less targeting capabilities

EX: “Referendum” – CPM Network Banner Ads

Mass Network Buying• ROC – Run of Channel: All sites within specific category

• CPM format• Ex: Financial Channel

• Behavioural Targeting – CPM (slide to follow)

Self-served Platform Buying

• Interactive self-served platform – No human interaction to complete the buy

• CPM, CPC, and CPA formats

• Typically lower rates due to high volume of impression intake/user visit• Ex: Facebook - $0.62 CPM vs. CBC - $15 CPM• CBC – average visit = 6 impressions• Facebook – average visit = 75 impressions

Hey you!

…yeah you.

Geo-targeting

306 area code (IP)

Weather-Triggered Targeting

• Ads shown only under certain weather conditions

• Triggered by:• Temperature• Precipitation• Humidex

• CPM format

Behavioural Targeting

Behavioural Targeting

• CPM – Mass network buying • Ex: RV Ads – RV consumer in Regina • Ads will run on sites indexed high against target

Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer

• But how do they know I’m an “Outdoor Enthusiast?” • Cookies capture user behaviour – algorithm dumps you into categories based on your habits• Ex: RV Trader > Kijiji – Boats > Facebook > Boat Trader > RV Trader > Gmail > Camping.com

Behavioural Targeting: RV Consumer

Why think when you can just Google it?

Paid Search• Google Adwords – targeted keywords

Paid

Organic

Benefits to Paid Search

• Reach people at the precise moment they’re searching for what you offer

• ***Control your budget• Self-served platform• CPC most popular format• Pay only when word is searched AND clicked

• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend

• See exactly what words are working or how ad is performing; adjust in real-time

Best Practices to Paid Search

• Target ads to appropriate landing page

• Target ads based on user device and action

EX: “Referendum” – “Vote No” group

Keyword ClicksImpressio

nsvote no 273 1071

sewage referendum 136 1140wastewater 117 1850

regina chamber of commerce 94 852

wastewater treatment 87 778wastewater treatment

plant 84 937treatment of wastewater 66 580

September 25 51 1673regina chamber 29 420

wastewater treatment plants 22 183

August 30th – September 25th

Ex: “Referendum” – “Water Watch” group

Keyword ClicksImpressio

nsregina water watch 190 3400

watch the water 24 575p3 project 17 346

drinking water 13 2088water treatment 12 1727

water watch 10 194privatization of water 9 127

water systems 7 1311p3 model 4 77

watch water 1 239

August 30th – September 25th

How do I get my ad to play before “Keyboard Cat?”

Canada top in video engagement compared to world

390 Videos/mo

nth

Canadian Video Demographic Breakdown

Video Pre-roll

Video Pre-roll

Video Pre-roll• Use to build brand awareness or invoke emotion• 15-second and 30-second

• Budget Benefits • Ad can run through video online while competing with big brands like DODGE or OLD SPICE• Might not have budget to buy TV on TSN

• Direct Buys: TSN, LeaderPost, CTVRegina• Network Buys: Bell (CTV, TSN, BNN, Comedy) Shaw (Discovery, HGTV, Global)• Self-Served Buy: YouTube

YouTube Video Pre-roll (Google)• ***Control your budget• Google Self-served platform• CPM most popular format• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend

• Targeting tools:• Age groups• Day parts (morning, evening, etc.)• Contextual (categories, videos relating to “x”)• Specific videos (Keyboard Cat)• Keywords searched (similar to google adwords)• Category bans (alcohol, gaming, 18+)

I already got the facebook and the twitter – now pay for it?!?

Paid Social Media – Benefits• ***Control your budget• Self-served platforms (Photo + Copy)• You set daily budget; no minimum campaign spend• CPM or CPC targeting• Extremely cost effective (EX: CPM - $0.45 - $1.09)

• Reach “Socializers” – less intrusive• Targeting tools:• Profile demographics: age, marital status, market (granular – Pilot Butte)• Interests listed somewhere on user profile

EX: Fishing, boats, #Camping

Paid Social Media – Best Practices• Direct “socializers” to environment in which they’re in• EX: Facebook ad > Company Facebook page• Note – it’s still fine to redirect to your company website if

relevant

• Experiment!!!

“Referendum” – Paid Social Media

Gender Age % Impressions % of clickersF 18-24 18.30% 12.84%F 25-34 11.05% 8.11%F 35-44 7.75% 7.33%F 45-54 8.83% 9.20%F 55-64 9.42% 12.47%F 65-100 5.11% 6.81%F Unknown 0.65% 0.62%M 18-24 13.33% 10.92%M 25-34 8.03% 7.69%M 35-44 4.53% 6.81%M 45-54 4.08% 5.82%M 55-64 3.37% 5.67%M 65-100 1.74% 2.70%M Unknown 0.50% 0.42%

Highest % of impressions - ages 18-34

Highest % of clickers – skew

towards femalesAges 18-34 or

55-64

“Referendum” – Paid Facebook ads

Over 4.9 million impressions

servedOver 1,700

clicks

Paid Social Media – LinkedIn • Social media channel to reach influential business people and affluent consumers

• Targeting tools:• Job Function• Education • Seniority• Company Name• Company Size

• Social media ads (Photo + Copy)• Sponsored Updates • Banner Ads & Direct Inbox messaging

Canada’s a smartphone country

Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers

Canadian Smartphone Mobile Subscribers

Mobile Advertising

• Some same rules and basics apply for buying • Targeting• CPM Buying format• Ad formats (banners, video, adwords, social)• Direct, Network, Self-Serve

• Slight rule variations for mobile:• Easier-to-take-in messaging (less sophisticated)• Audience is usually on the go

• Direct users to a mobile-friendly landing page

“Referendum” – Mobile ads

Why have one, when you can have ‘em all?

Cross-Platform Opportunities

Cross-Platform Opportunities

• Work with key partners to develop multi-media and multi-screen experience

• Reach a wider audience in their preferred environment• Read the hard-copy Leader Post newspaper during morning coffee• Check updates on LeaderPost.com throughout the day on your work desktop (yes when you SHOULD be working)• Check out a breaking news notification sent to your mobile phone just before supper

Device Preferences throughout the Day

Regina Chamber of Commerce – Referendum Online Recap:• Banner ads:• Direct, Self-Served, Network

• Paid Facebook ads

• Paid Search – Google Adwords

• Mobile Ads

TOTAL CLICKS:

8,668TOTAL IMPRESSIONS:

8,151,908

Google Analytics – Overview - Dashboard

Demographics

System

Mobile

Language

New vs. ReturnVisits, Unique Visitors, Page Views,

Pages/visit

Avg. Visit Duration, Bounce Rate, % New Visits

Google Analytics – Other insights

• IT’S FREE! EVERYONE SHOULD HAVE THIS!• (or a version of analytics to gauge your campaigns)

•Traffic sources:• Paid online referrals• Search – Paid vs. Organic • Direct traffic

Google Analytics – Trifon’s Example

Device % change – YOY: 2012 vs. 2013

Desktop +45.46%

Mobile +309.05%

Tablet +286.25%

TOTAL: +31.53%

Highest spikes on Fridays, followed by Saturdays

Real-time Bidding

RTB – Supply Side Platform (SSP):

Banner Ads

RTB Exchange

Room

Sell!Sell!Sell!

Video Ads

Mobile Ads

RTB – Demand Side Platform (DSP):

RTB Exchange

RoomRegina

Males: 50-55

RV Intender

CPM - $5 max!!!

Village RV

Buy!Buy!Buy!

RTB – Exchange Success

Sold! To the RV guy for $3.01 CPM! Sorry Dove, your

max $3 CPM didn’t cut it.

Real-time Bidding - Benefits:

• data driven decisions

• smaller budgets can compete

• reduced media wastage

• Better targeting capabilities – accommodates moving targets

Ex: RTB sees Joe is looking for a job Hit Joe with “Jobs” ads

Once Joe gets hired, RTB sees he’s no longer a “job seeker”

Move on to next guy!

Digital Media Inspired Halloween Costumes:

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