biblio wow!

Click here to load reader

Post on 25-Apr-2015

218 views

Category:

Education

4 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

Using Bibliocommons for Readers' Advisory services. An inservice training for Tulsa City-County Library staff on October 14, 2013.

TRANSCRIPT

  • 1. BIBLIO-WOW! Rockin Readers Advisory with Bibliocommons Presented by Rebecca Howard, MLIS Readers Librarian
  • 2. Introductions Name Location Best book you read last month
  • 3. Learning Objectives Identify some Bibliocommons features that can enhance your Readers Advisory service Lists Tagging Adding similar titles and reviews
  • 4. A Bit about Bibliocommons Goal: To help public libraries deliver the same kind of rich discovery and community connection experiences online that the library has always delivered in its branches -- all built around the heart of the library: its collections. Key: A common platform that aggregates the shared expertise, opinions and recommendations of staff and customers alike across all libraries, and integrates those contributions back into the local catalog in intelligent ways.
  • 5. The Wow Factor Is you!
  • 6. I LOVE lists Why They are made by people not algorithms. They give you access to the R.A. knowledge of libraries across the country and in Canada. They provide opportunities for engagement, interaction with readers.
  • 7. Finding a List
  • 8. Use a list when . . . Ive read everything by __________________ Dennis Lehane Janet Evanovich James Patterson Laurell K. Hamilton Fill in the blank and I was wondering what other authors I could try? http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq0
  • 9. Use a list when . . . There are over 200 holds on the book I wanted. What can I read while Im waiting for it? http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq2
  • 10. Use a list when . . . This phenomenon occurs: READER ASKS QUESTION Brain goes empty.
  • 11. Use a list when . . . You need inspiration for a display
  • 12. Creating a List http://help.bibliocommons.com/045faq/060faq-lists/
  • 13. Use a list when You want to get social http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq7 http://tccl.bibliocommons.com/lists/show/86922331_seattle_quick_picks
  • 14. Use a list when . . . You want to create a bibliography for a program or community-wide event Tulsa Reads Khaled Hosseini http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq8 Tulsa Pride 2013 http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vq9 Novel Talk: Gender Wars http://www.ittybittyurl.com/Vqm
  • 15. Your Turn Find read-alikes: Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman Search using words that convey moods, tones, and themes. Start your own list.
  • 16. Im gonna add some tags Great for pulling together titles across genres and formats for displays. Adding tags and similar titles enriches browsing and discovery for customers. Creates additional tools for providing R.A. Remember: Tags are only as good as the person who creates them!
  • 17. Adding tags http://help.bibliocommons.com/025ug/015tags/
  • 18. Adding similar titles
  • 19. Your Turn Add a few tags Add some similar titles
  • 20. SHARE How else could you envision using lists, tags, similar titles to enhance R.A. in your library?