Download - What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?
![Page 1: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/1.jpg)
WHAT’S THAT LEAD
WORTH, ANYWAY?Katie Roper, Caring.com
Laura Kislowski, Solutions Advisors
Jamison Gosselin, Holiday Retirement
![Page 2: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/2.jpg)
Agenda
► What is ROI?
► How Do You Calculate ROI for Marketing Programs?
► Lost Revenue: The Other Side of ROI
► How Do You Calculate Lost Revenue?
► Using ROI and Lost Revenue Calculations to Make Senior Housing Marketing Decisions
![Page 3: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/3.jpg)
What is ROI?
How much you spend to do something
vs.
How much you make from doing it
(Measured as a percent)
![Page 4: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/4.jpg)
What You Need to Know
What’s a resident
worth to you?
Rent rate
Care rate
Average length of
stay
LIFETIME VALUE
Costs associated
with each resident
Or company-wide
operating margin
OPERATING
PROFIT
Fully-loaded costs
for each marketing
program
PROGRAM COSTS
![Page 5: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/5.jpg)
Formula for Calculating ROI
Customer Lifetime Value (LTV) – Marketing Expense
Marketing Expense
or:
Customer LTV– Operating Expense – Marketing Expense
Marketing Expense
ASHA calculates
– $77,000 as LTV of IL resident; average IL operating margin of 44%
– $88,500 as LTV of AL resident; average AL operating margin of 31%
![Page 6: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/6.jpg)
Marketing ROI Calculation (AL Example)
6
Average Monthly Rent $4,000
Average Monthly Care Charge $300
Average Length of Residence (in Months) 18
Lifetime Value of Resident $77,400FORMULA: ($4,000 + $300) x18 = $77,400
Referral Agency Percentage 85%
Cost of Referral ($4,000 + $300) x 0.85 $3,655
Return on investment 2018%
FORMULA:
$77,400 LTV - $3,655 referral expense
$3,655 = 20.18 or 2018% ROI
![Page 7: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/7.jpg)
Translation:
7
![Page 8: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/8.jpg)
ROI Calculation: Profit
8
Average Monthly Rent $4,000
Average Monthly Care Charge $300
Average Length of Residence (in Months) 18
Average Operating Margin 31%
Lifetime Profit from Resident $23,994FORMULA: $77,400 LTV x 31% profit margin = $23,994 profit
Referral Agency Percentage 85%
Cost of Referral $3,655
ROI Profit ONLY 556%FORMULA:
$23,994 profit - $3,655 referral expense
$3,655= 5.56 or 556% ROI
![Page 9: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/9.jpg)
Translation
9
![Page 10: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/10.jpg)
What If A Resident Moves Out?
10
Referral Agency Percentage 85%
Cost of Referral $3,655
Lifetime Value of Resident $77,400
Average Operating Profits 31%
Number of referrals staying 18 months 4
Referrals who stay 3 months 1
LTV of referred residents $322,500FORMULA ($77,400 LTV x 4) + ($4,300 x 3 months) = $322,500
Referral fees $18,275FORMULA: $3,655 referral fee x 5 referral fees paid = $18,275
ROI on Profit from all referrals 447%FORMULA
($322,500 LTV of all referrals x 0.31) - $18,275 referral fees
$18,275= 4.47 or 447% ROI
![Page 11: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/11.jpg)
Match Profitability to Marketing Cost
Occupancy
► Up to 75% Occupancy
– Covering Fixed Costs
– Breakeven
► 75% - 85% Occupancy
– Covering Variable Costs
– Low Profit
► 85% - 100% Occupancy
– Highest Profit Range
Marketing Program
► Keep Your Current Residents
– Lowest cost
► Word of Mouth
► Professional Referrals
► Your Own Marketing
► Referral Agencies
– Higher cost, but higher profits to offset against
![Page 12: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/12.jpg)
LOST REVENUE:
THE OTHER SIDE OF ROI
![Page 13: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/13.jpg)
Lost Revenue: The Other Side of ROI
► Lost Revenue: What you don’t get when a unit
remains unrented
– Poor sales
– Inefficient marketing
– Under renovation
– Converted to other uses
Can’t Be Re-Captured!
![Page 14: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/14.jpg)
Calculating Lost Revenue
Potential Occupancy – Average Daily Census
Multiply by Average Daily Rate
Multiply by Days in the Month
= Lost Revenue
![Page 15: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/15.jpg)
Calculating Lost Revenue
15
Step 1: Calculate Average Daily Census
Community Units 100
Days in the Month 31
Total Days that the units are occupied 2,640
Average Daily Census 85.2
FORMULA: 2,640 days occupied
31 days in the month = 85.2
![Page 16: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/16.jpg)
Calculating Lost Revenue (continued)
16
Step 2: Calculate Average Daily Rate
Total Units 100
- Studios 40, at $100 per day
- One Bedrooms 50, at $125 per day
- Two Bedrooms 10, at $150 per day
Total Daily Value $11,750FORMULA: (40 x $100) + (50 x 125) + (10 x 150) = $11,750
Average Daily Rate $117.50
FORMULA
$11,750 Total Daily Value
100 Units= $117.50
![Page 17: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/17.jpg)
Calculating Lost Revenue (continued)
Total Potential Occupancy – Average Daily Census
Multiply by Average Daily Rate
Multiply by Days in the Month
= Lost Revenue
100 units – 85.2 average daily census = 14.8 units vacant on average
14.8 vacancies x $117.50 average daily rate = $1,739 lost revenue/day
$1,739 x 31 days = $53,909 lost revenue per month
![Page 18: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/18.jpg)
Why Calculate Lost Revenue?
► Why we don’t do it– Focus on budgeted occupancy numbers
– Focus on monthly numbers, not aggregate
– Focus on under-performing communities vs. entire portfolio
► Why it’s important– “Speak the language of Operations”
– Understand the impact of sales concessions
– Choose appropriate marketing strategies
![Page 19: What's That Lead Worth, Anyway?](https://reader034.vdocument.in/reader034/viewer/2022042722/5790558d1a28ab900c9563ac/html5/thumbnails/19.jpg)
USING ROI AND LOST REVENUE
CALCUATIONS TO MAKE
MARKETING DECISIONS