enhancing user experience with rewarded ad monetization
TRANSCRIPT
Closing the loopEnhancing user experiencewith Rewarded ad-monetization
Casual Connect Kiev, October 2017
Tal ShohamVP International Business Development, ironSource
Changing the focus
Ad Monetization
Revenue
Attention for IAPs
Attention Ad Monetization
IAP Revenue
Revenue Attention
How we analyze
IAP metrics
● % of paying users
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU
● Type of reward - virtual goods
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
How we analyze
IAP metrics
● % of paying users
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPPU
● Type of reward - virtual goods
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
Rewarded Ad Monetization Metrics
● ER / UR
● Retention rate
● Churn rate
● Average session duration
● ARPU / ARPDAU / ARPDEU
● Type of reward
● Timing
● Minnows / Dolphins / Whales
Engagement Rate and Usage Rate
Engagement Rate Usage Rate
6 Videos
100%Users
40%Users
1,000,000 DAU * 40% ER = 400,000 daily engaged users400,000 * 6 (UR) = 2,400,000 daily video impressions
App A App B
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
53% 7
EngagementRate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
App A
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
12% 3
EngagementRate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
App B
7.0
6.0
5.0
4.0
3.0
2.0
1.0
6
EngagementRate
Usage Rate
50%
40%
30%
20%
10%
Casino subcategory average
31%
6X
How to improveER and UR?
Placement ● Test alternative placements - from storefront to natural breaks
in the app
● Maximise the ad’s visibility, discoverability with minimal number of clicks for user
Reward ● How important is the currency to playing the game?
● Different currencies for each ad unit
User Flow● Is the ad product integrated at the optimal trigger points?
● Ad units should be available exactly when users need rewards
Traffic Driver ● Where are your traffic drivers located?
● Are the traffic drivers clear and self explanatory?
● Give them a consistent look & feel
The Power of Exponential Rewards
Case Study
Not Doppler● Smart rewarding scheme matches in-game
economy for their game Earn To Die 2
● Video reward system adapted to player’s in-game progress with exponential inflation for upgrades in the app
● Benefits
○ Engagement rate increased to 25% - 38%
○ Earn to Die 2’s ER went above subcategory averageUR increased from 4.5 to 6
● Engage Rate between 25% and 38% ● Market Benchmarks
Oct Nov
10%
20%
30%
40%
Boost ARPDAU withNew Ad Placements
Case Study
Fiveamp● Wanted to boost monetization and ad
engagement without disrupting user experience
● Added additional placement of RV
● Enhanced ad appeal and visibility by offering users the choice between 1 reward, or watching an ad and receiving 3
● Benefits
○ ARPDAU increased x2.5
○ 165% increase in revenue
○ 94% boost to ER
Earnings Before Additional Placement Earnings with the Additional Placement
RevenueJumps 165%
● Revenue Growth
SegmentationNot all users are equal, so don’t treat them like they are
1 2 3Paying vs. non-paying
usersEngaged with ads vs. non engaged
users
Custom in-app event i.e. Level 5 reached
Impressions *User quality for
advertisers IPM
Implementation - Placements, Flow
Engagement Rate Usage Rate(Imp/engaged user)
VisibilityAttractiveness
TimingAlignment with virtual economy
eCPM
Revenue =
Thank You