expo deck
TRANSCRIPT
© TBG Digital 2010
FacebookFacebook
‘Facebook advertising doesn’t work. It’s the equivalent of having an N-Power ad thrust at you whilst having a pint in the pub with your mates’
Simon Mansell – CEO, TBG Digital, 2007
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook AdsFacebook Ads
Display constrained by static banners
= Limited optimisation
Unlimited image options with the advantages of paid search copy
= Micro targeting ability
New Rules– The ASU*
*Ad Sales Unit
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook AdsFacebook Ads
Homepage
• First 5 impressions• Fixed cost• 3 ad variants• Limited Targeting
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook AdsFacebook Ads
Marketplace
• Auction bidding• Unlimited ad variants• Rich targeting• Optimise
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook Variate ApproachFacebook Variate Approach
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook TargetingFacebook Targeting
Broad demographic targetingAge: 28 – 55
Gender: Male
Interests: Health, Sports, Driving, Arts
Site list: Men’s Health, FHM, Autotrader
Old Thinking – Display advertising
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook TargetingFacebook Targeting
Foot
ball
Cont
act
lens
es
Sund
ay le
ague
Socc
er A
M
Gla
sses
Mat
ch o
f the
day
28-29
29-30
30-31
32-33
33-34
34-35
35-36
‘I like....’
New Rules - Micro targeting your audience
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook ToolsFacebook Tools
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook ToolsFacebook Tools
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook CPCsFacebook CPCs
© TBG Digital 2010
Facebook API and ONEFacebook API and ONE
Facebook ResultsFacebook Results
© TBG Digital 2010
Jan Feb Mar April May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan$0
$50,000
$100,000
$150,000
$200,000
$250,000
$300,000
0
500
1000
1500
2000
2500
3000
3500
4000
Spend Orders
Month
ly S
pend
In -house
activity
CPA halved
Increased volume x20
Maximised Christmas
© TBG Digital 2010
› 2.5 Billion ads per day
› 76,000 ad variants live for Yellow Pages
› Sub $3 CPA for Major Airline
› More volume for Vodafone than Google
› 200,000 installs a day for EA Games
Facebook ResultsFacebook Results
Facebook – Vodafone Case StudyFacebook – Vodafone Case Study
© TBG Digital 2010
Objective: SIM only contracts
› Unique offers such a “Only For Girls”
= Pink Samsung Blade with SIM-only value
› Tested 8 different product offers with layers of demographic
and geographic targeting
› Optimised against conversion rate
› 4,000 new contract customers per month
Facebook – Vodafone Case StudyFacebook – Vodafone Case Study
© TBG Digital 2010
30 x Titles – 25 Characters
30 x Images – 110 x 80 pixels
30 x Body Copy – 135 Characters
› Improving ad relevancy increases CTR and delivery, and lowers CPC/CPA
› Optimise well-performing combinations and scale up delivery
30 x 30 x 30 = 27,000 combinations
Facebook – Vodafone Case StudyFacebook – Vodafone Case Study
© TBG Digital 2010
› 27,000 different ads for Vodafone live simultaneously
› Each ad appeals to a different audience
› Optimisation improves relevancy and volume
© TBG Digital 2010
ONE Media Manager – Bid To CPAONE Media Manager – Bid To CPA
© TBG Digital 2010
ONE Media Manager – Image GalleryONE Media Manager – Image Gallery
© TBG Digital 2010
ONE Media Manager – Ad SchedulingONE Media Manager – Ad Scheduling