gcd-week2-digitalstrategy-planning
DESCRIPTION
GCD Week 2 - Digital Marketing Strategy & PlanningTRANSCRIPT
![Page 1: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/1.jpg)
Week 2 – Digital Strategy and Planning
Keith Feighery
![Page 2: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/2.jpg)
The Digital Marketing Ecosystem
![Page 3: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/3.jpg)
![Page 4: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/4.jpg)
Companies, both big and small, need to imagine themselves as publishers
Trick is to be engaging and provide value to target audience
![Page 5: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/5.jpg)
That’s why Inbound & Content Marketing are so Important
![Page 6: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/6.jpg)
Hubspot – Inbound Marketing Company view
![Page 7: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/7.jpg)
Inbound & Content Marketing Channels
![Page 8: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/8.jpg)
Digital Strategy & Planning
![Page 9: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/9.jpg)
Digital Strategy & Planning
Source RedAnt.co.uk
![Page 10: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/10.jpg)
SOSTAC Framework
![Page 11: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/11.jpg)
UsingRACE
forDigital
Marketing Optimisation
![Page 12: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/12.jpg)
Planning Phase
![Page 13: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/13.jpg)
Planning
• Define business objectives– Increase sales, Increase awareness, increase retention rates, create
demand, educate audience, augment lead generation etc..• Define audience and break down into personas & needs
– Personas, Influencers, Advocates, – Demographics, Psychographics, SocialGraphics etc.
• Audience locations and value of each audience segment– Where do the reside digitally, what are their preferences, how do they
consume media, what are their required informational needs• Aligning digital strategy with brand
– What is the tone, voice, perception currently presented
![Page 14: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/14.jpg)
Personas
Source RedAnt.co.uk
![Page 15: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/15.jpg)
Location Setting
Source RedAnt.co.uk
![Page 16: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/16.jpg)
Goals and Audience Location Analysis
Source RedAnt.co.uk
![Page 17: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/17.jpg)
Creation Phase
![Page 18: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/18.jpg)
Creation• Once strategy, audience, locations are known
– Start conceiving, designing and creating tactical solutions• Identify themes, channels, tone, aims for each tactical channel and
initiative– PPC, Social Platforms, SEO, Display, Affiliate, Email, Lead Gen etc…
• Create Digital Presence on Key Platforms– Website, Social Channels, Ad Platforms, Email etc..
• Initiate a content marketing production programme– Map this out along with personas and buyer cycles
• Define KPIs for each programme – know upfront what success will look like (by corollary failure too)
![Page 19: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/19.jpg)
Mapping audience, solutions and projected ROI
Source RedAnt.co.uk
![Page 20: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/20.jpg)
Channel ROI Work-Through
• Spend €30,000 on PPC Channel• 1 Million Impressions • 30000 Clicks (3% CTR)• 3% Conversion Rate (900)• CPA = 30000/900 -> €33.33 (Cost to Acquire One New Customer)• Average Order Size €100 • 50% Profit on Sales Earned = €50.00• Profit Per Average Customer = (€50.00 – €33.33) = €16.67• Total Amount ordered – 900 x 100 = €90,000 Generated• 50% Profit Margin = €45,000 (900 x 50)• Total ROI - €15,000 (16.67 x 900) or (€45,000 – €30,000)• Extrapolate Customer Lifetime Value
![Page 21: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/21.jpg)
Measurement
• Key Performance Indicators– Measures that help you understand how you are
doing against your objectives.– highlight success, or failures, for the objectives you
have created for your organization
![Page 22: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/22.jpg)
Typical Trackable KPIs
• Increase Rate & Value of Conversions• Increase Average order size (ecommerce apps)• Increase Customer Lifetime Value• Increase Average Revenue Per User• Reduce Cost per Lead & Cost Per Sale• Reduce Core Bounce rates• Increase Frequency and Return rates• Reduce Abandonment rates
![Page 23: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/23.jpg)
Metrics
• Traffic Related Statistics– # Page Views, Visits, Unique Visitors
• Channel Statistics – Decomposition of Organic, Paid, Email, Direct etc..
• Social Stats– # of Twitter, FB, Blog, LinkedIn followers/comments
• # of 3rd Party Links – Partners, Referrals, Promotions, Affiliates
• # of Newsletter signups• # of Site Specific Downloads
– Webinar Views, Articles, Whitepapers, podcasts
![Page 24: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/24.jpg)
Simple KPI Framework
![Page 25: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/25.jpg)
Actualisation Phase
![Page 26: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/26.jpg)
Actualisation
• Real-time implementation of each channel, campaign and platform
• Engaging and interacting with your audiences• Reacting to issues and tweaking campaigns as they proceed live• Constantly compare performance with projected KPIs created
during the previous phases• Create a cross functional communications feedback loop to
resolve all issues and update status• Capture all lessons learnt in a repository in order to feedback
into an improvement process
![Page 27: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/27.jpg)
Actualisation Core Tactics
![Page 28: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/28.jpg)
Social Media Programmes
![Page 29: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/29.jpg)
Challenge is to build engaging digital and social strategies aligned with clear business
objectives for each channel
![Page 30: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/30.jpg)
Be Social – Interact with People & Solicit Feedback and Responses
![Page 31: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/31.jpg)
Be Entertaining, Informative or Offer Something of VALUE to Followers
![Page 32: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/32.jpg)
Elements of a social media campaign
• Essentials of a successful campaign– Know your target audience– Plan goals and aims of campaign and channel– Think about the tone, voice and personality to adopt– Choose your platforms carefully– Think about the type of content to use on each platform– Take risks – not everything will work– Connect to other channels
![Page 33: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/33.jpg)
Social Media Case Studies
![Page 34: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/34.jpg)
Muller Display Irish Times
![Page 35: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/35.jpg)
Muller Facebook
![Page 36: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/36.jpg)
Muller – The Wall
![Page 37: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/37.jpg)
Muller YouTube
![Page 38: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/38.jpg)
Barrys Tea Website
![Page 39: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/39.jpg)
Barry’s Tea Landing Page
![Page 40: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/40.jpg)
Barry’s Tea Wall
![Page 41: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/41.jpg)
Tayto Crisps
![Page 42: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/42.jpg)
Tayto Wall
![Page 43: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/43.jpg)
Controversial Hunky Dory Page
![Page 44: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/44.jpg)
Marks and Spencer’s Ireland Display Ad
![Page 45: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/45.jpg)
Marks and Spencers Ireland Wall
![Page 46: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/46.jpg)
Marks and Spencer’s Website
![Page 47: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/47.jpg)
Westcoast Cooler
![Page 48: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/48.jpg)
Hairy Baby
![Page 49: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/49.jpg)
Hairybaby
![Page 50: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/50.jpg)
Engaging with Fans
![Page 51: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/51.jpg)
Getting People To Respond
![Page 52: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/52.jpg)
MakeupAndBeauty.ie
![Page 53: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/53.jpg)
Big Brands Need to be Plan for Crisis on Social Media
![Page 54: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/54.jpg)
Nestle
![Page 55: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/55.jpg)
Pay Per Click Advertising
![Page 56: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/56.jpg)
PPC Examples
![Page 57: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/57.jpg)
Search: Health Insurance Quote
![Page 58: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/58.jpg)
Search ‘Im Sorry Flowers’
![Page 59: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/59.jpg)
Search Engine Optimisation
![Page 60: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/60.jpg)
SEO Case Example
![Page 61: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/61.jpg)
Search: Flowers for newborn baby
![Page 62: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/62.jpg)
Newborn Flowers
![Page 63: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/63.jpg)
Email Marketing
![Page 64: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/64.jpg)
Email Applications
![Page 65: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/65.jpg)
Case Studies
![Page 66: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/66.jpg)
CityDeal.ie
![Page 67: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/67.jpg)
![Page 68: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/68.jpg)
Schuh
![Page 69: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/69.jpg)
![Page 70: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/70.jpg)
Evaluation Phase
![Page 71: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/71.jpg)
KPIs & Goals set in the Creation Phases should be assessed according to actuals
![Page 72: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/72.jpg)
Ongoing KPI & Metric Analysis
![Page 73: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/73.jpg)
Evaluation Feedback loop
• Implement a continuous learning and improvement framework• All findings and experiences should feed into subsequent
phases, campaigns and initiatives• Refine reporting process
– Improve ROI metrics in their broadest sense– Educate management through correlation of digital
and business goals– Iterate constantly
![Page 74: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/74.jpg)
Questions & Answers
![Page 75: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/75.jpg)
Contact Details
www.linkedin.com/in/keithfeighery
www.twitter.com/kfeighery
www.faceboook.com/keith.feighery
086 6070274
![Page 76: GCD-Week2-DigitalStrategy-Planning](https://reader036.vdocument.in/reader036/viewer/2022062418/55513186b4c905b3598b4f63/html5/thumbnails/76.jpg)
Thank You