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What is Google AdWords?PPC (Pay Per Click) AdvertisingYou dont pay (to Google) unless people click on your ad

Highly Targeted Advertising Only appear when people search for itGoogle Adwords is an online advertising platform that allows you to run advertisement on Google Search, Search partners, YouTube as well as display network.

AdWords structureAd GroupAd GroupAd GroupAd Group

AdWords AccountAd CampaignAd CampaignkeywordskeywordskeywordskeywordsAd textAd textAd textAd textLanding pagesLanding pagesLanding pagesLanding pages

AdWords structure

Each campaign has a daily limit budget.The ideal AdWords account is structured into individual campaigns, each of which will have its ownad groups. Scattering your ads among the campaigns and groups, help you to manage the advertisement well, you will know which one is good and which is bad, and optimize your adsIn turn, each ad group will have its ownkeywords, uniquead text, andlanding pages.

Generating KeywordsAkeywordis a word or phrase the user searches for and then sees your ad. Your ads will only show up for the keywords that you pick.Put yourself in your customers shoes.If you were looking to buy used printers online, what would you enter into the Google search bar?

Before you set your ad, you must make a research on the keywords which are relative to it, and pick 2~5 keywords which you consider the best choice for your ad.

Pic a keywordHead over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordPut yourself in your customers shoes.Head over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordIf you were looking to buy used printers online, what would you enter into the Google search bar?Put yourself in your customers shoes.Head over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordType in exactly that.If you were looking to buy used printers online, what would you enter into the Google search bar?Head over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordType in exactly that.Head over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordType in exactly that.Head over to theGoogle keyword plannerand start searching.

Pic a keywordOnce you go to the keyword ideas tab, youll see themonthly search volumefor your keywords in that region, plus theaverage CPCfor each one.

From this, you can see that only 10 people per month in the US search for buy printers cheap, but it costs almost $3.00 per click to advertise for that keyword.cheap printers, on the other hand, has 260 searches per month, but only costs $0.78, on average.

Pic a keywordOnce you go to the keyword ideas tab, youll see themonthly search volumefor your keywords in that region, plus theaverage CPCfor each one.

From this, you can see that only 10 people per month in the US search for buy printers cheap, but it costs almost $3.00 per click to advertise for that keyword.cheap printers, on the other hand, has 260 searches per month, but only costs $0.78, on average.You can check other tools like semrush which provides the competition of the keywords

Pic a keywordYou can check other tools like semrush which provides the competition of the keywords

Check the CompetitionPeeking over into your competitors business will help you to determine if its easy or not to outrank them.Go toSpyfu.comand enter your keyword. In this case, its Printing press machines.

Itll show you the the average CTR (so you know what to expect) and the number of companies who have advertised for this keyword in the past 3 months.In this case, theres just 26, which is nothing, Itll also show you other keywords that have done well on AdWords. considering there are over 1 million companies advertising on AdWords.

Check the CompetitionYou can even see the actual ads that your competitors use.

Check the CompetitionYou can even see the actual ads that your competitors use.

Pro tip:One determinant of relevancy, for Googles quality score, is whether the keyword shows up in your actual ad.

Check the CompetitionPro tip:One determinant of relevancy, for Googles quality score, is whether the keyword shows up in your actual ad.

AdWords TerminologyImpressions: Click-through-rate, (CTR):Bid:And determining your cost-per-clicks CPCs.If your maximum bid is $2, Google will only show your ad to people if other arent bidding more, on average. However, if people are bidding less for the keyword that you want your ad to show up for, Google wont spend your maximum bid. It optimizes impressions and bids. Therefore, you might actually end up paying less than $2 per click.Quality score: This is important, because CTR tells you which ads are working well and which arent.Cost per click, or CPC: Different keywords cost different amounts, depending on competition. which is simply the number that tells us how often our ad has already been shown when users searched for that keyword. This is just the percentage of users who land on your advertised page because they clicked on your ad. The higher the CTR, The more effective google considers the ad.sets the maximum you are willing topay for each click.the amount an advertiser is charged for a single click. This is a metric based on the experience that the user has on your landing page, the relevancy of your website, the quality of your keyword and your actual ad.

AdWords TerminologyConversion:ROI:Traffic:In this example, for every $100 spent on the ads, We would make $330.40 back.

is usually a sale, but, in general, it meansthe user took the action that you wanted them to take.stands forreturn on investment.

the number of visitors to your website.

AdWords TerminologyConversion:ROI:Traffic:In this example, for every $100 spent on the ads, We would make $330.40 back.

is usually a sale, but, in general, it meansthe user took the action that you wanted them to take.stands forreturn on investment.

the number of visitors to your website.

Setting up AdWords campaignGo toGoogle AdWordsand hit start now.

Setting up AdWords campaignEnter your email (best to use a Gmail account) and homepage URL. Then, Google wants you to set up your first campaign.

Setting up AdWords campaignYou need two components to work this outyour profit per saleyour conversion rateLets assume that you make a $100 profit per sale.the percentage of people who actually order, when they arrive on your sales pageIf, for every 1000 views of the page, 10 people buy, thats a 1% conversion ratethenIf you think making $70 per sale is still okayThen its okay if you pay Google a 30% commission for each successful conversion through AdWords.For the very first time you can get this from your website statistics, the percentage of users who actually order, when they arrive on your product sales page.

Setting up AdWords campaignYou need two components to work this outyour profit per saleyour conversion rateLets assume that you make a $100 profit per sale.the percentage of people who actually order, when they arrive on your sales pageIf, for every 1000 views of the page, 10 people buy, thats a 1% conversion ratethenIf you think making $70 per sale is still okayThen its okay if you pay Google a 30% commission for each successful conversion through AdWords.For the very first time you can get this from your website statistics, the percentage of users who actually order, when they arrive on your product sales page.

Setting up AdWords campaignPutting all of it together will give you yourmaximum CPC.your conversion rateIn this case, that would be $100 x 0.3 x 1% = $0.30That meansyou can spend $.30 per click on Google AdWords and still make $70 per saleAt our maximum CPC, 20 clicks per day would cost us $6 per day, tops.You can run a campaign for 10 days and just spend $60.You just need a few clicks to get started.the more data that you have, the more statistically significant it will be. But, this volume of data is something you will get over time. If you just get 20 clicks per day, in the beginning, thats okay.Max. CPC =your profit x commission for Google x

Setting up AdWords campaignPutting all of it together will give you yourmaximum CPC.your conversion rateIn this case, that would be $0.30That meansyou can spend $.30 per click on Google AdWords and still make $70 per saleAt our maximum CPC, 20 clicks per day would cost us $6 per day, tops.You can run a campaign for 10 days and just spend $60.You just need a few clicks to get started.The more data that you have, Max. CPC =your profit x commission for Google x$100 x0.3x1% =the more statistically significant it will be. But, this volume of data is something you will get over time. If you just get 20 clicks per day, in the beginning, thats okay.

Choose your target locationIf your business is operating only in the US, but US-wide, enter United States.Under networks,

uncheck the display network. You only want your ad to show up in the Google desktop search results, not on other websites in your industry.

Put in keywordsYouve just made a research and choose the best keywords for your ad. (2 ~5) keywords for an ad is the optimal.enter your keywords (dont worry about Googles recommendations, you can add more later) and set your bid to $2.00.

Write your first adBe precise.Having aunique value proposition(UVP) helps.Spend some time thinking about how youre different from anyone else. CAPITALIZE on that.Including acall-to-actionis also tremendously important.

Look at this bad ad that comes up for keyword cheap bricks.

You dont have a lot of room to express yourself. So, be short and sweet. Its a one-sentence description of the benefits for your customers. What can you bring to the table that your competitors dont? The easiest way to get people to click your ad is to ask them to do so.

Write your first ad

Headline:Lets dissect this ad real quick:Get used press printers fast used press printing machines is a headline that doesnt solely rely on the keyword and thus stands out, Display URL:Again, we added Press_Printing at the end, but it is also an action people can take, which makes it clickable. so itll be highlighted in the search results and make our ad more relevant to searchers of the keyword.

Write your first ad

Headline:Lets dissect this ad real quick:Get used press printers fast used press printing machines is a headline that doesnt solely rely on the keyword and thus stands out, Display URL:Again, we added Press_Printing at the end, but it is also an action people can take, which makes it clickable. so itll be highlighted in the search results and make our ad more relevant to searchers of the keyword.

Write your first ad

Text:Lets dissect the ad real quick:You only have 2 lines, which isnt much to get the message across. Call-to-action (CTA):Order today.Then hit save and next...Our printers are cheap and delivered within 2 days. Thats as clear as it gets. Of course, cheap is always relative, but it sounds good enough to the searcher. Delivering within 2 days is definitely a bonus that most other competitors might not offer. What more needs to be said? There is no exclamation mark, because Google isnt big on those, but its definitely a good prompt to take action.

Write your first ad

Text:Lets dissect the ad real quick:You only have 2 lines, which isnt much to get the message across. Call-to-action (CTA):Order today.Then hit save and next...Our printers are cheap and delivered within 2 days. Thats as clear as it gets. Of course, cheap is always relative, but it sounds good enough to the searcher. Delivering within 2 days is definitely a bonus that most other competitors might not offer. What more needs to be said? There is no exclamation mark, because Google isnt big on those, but its definitely a good prompt to take action.

Payment InformationFill your payment information. And then hit Finish and create ad.

Fix detailsYoull then land on your dashboard for the first time. First of all, pause the campaign so it doesnt start running just yet.

If you click on the campaign, youll see that inside of the campaign, Google automatically created an ad group.

Fix detailsYoull then land on your dashboard for the first time. First of all, pause the campaign so it doesnt start running just yet.

If you click on the campaign, youll see that inside of the campaign, Google automatically created an ad group.

Fix detailsIf you click on that, youll land on the ad level, where you can see your keyword.Click on your keyword and set it to phrase match.

Initially, google sets this tobroad match.

Fix detailsIf you click on that, youll land on the ad level, where you can see your keyword.Click on your keyword and set it to phrase match.

Initially, google sets this tobroad match.

Understand Different Matching OptionsBroad Match:

If you bid on Cheap furnitureYour ad will appear when people search for:

how can i make furniture at home cheapSo thats not what you want.

Understand Different Matching Options

Broad Match:If you bid on Cheap furnitureYour ad will appear when people search for:

how can i make furniture at home cheapSo thats not what you want.

Understand Different Matching OptionsExact Match:

might be too targeted, though, since it only allows the exact phrase, cheap furniture.

Understand Different Matching Options

Exact Match:might be too targeted, though, since it only allows the exact phrase, cheap furniture.

Understand Different Matching OptionsPhrase Match:

If you bid on Cheap furnitureis a good option, since it must contain your keyword as a fixed phrase, but can have other terms around it.If users search where to buy cheap furniture your ad will still show up.

Understand Different Matching Options

Phrase Match:If you bid on Cheap furnitureis a good option, since it must contain your keyword as a fixed phrase, but can have other terms around it.If users search where to buy cheap furniture your ad will still show up.

Understand Different Matching OptionsNegative KeywordsPut minus sign -ResellerWholesalerFreeTechnique to filter out traffic that you dont wantSo, your ad will not show up when people search for:

furniture resellerfurniture wholesalerfree furnitureYou can check other tools like semrush which provides the competition of the keywords

Understand Different Matching OptionsNegative KeywordsPut minus sign -ResellerWholesalerFreeTechnique to filter out traffic that you dont wantSo, your ad will not show up when people search for:

furniture resellerfurniture wholesalerfree furnitureYou can check other tools like semrush which provides the competition of the keywords

Set up conversion trackingRemember that all of this is useless without conversions.Thats why you need to track each and every single one of them.How does Google do this?With a snippet of code.You put a bit of code on the page users reach, after successfully buying from you, To set it up, go to Tools and then Conversions.

which willlet Google AdWords know that there was a purchaseevery time that a user reaches the page after clicking on an ad.

Set up conversion trackingClick + Conversion.

Set up conversion trackingNow, choose Website.

Set up conversion trackingAdd the info, basically just a name and the value of the conversion.

Hit save and continue. Then. youll reach the page with the code snippet.

Set up conversion trackingJust copy the code snippet and add it to the HTML code of your thank you page (the one people see right after making a purchase).

Set up conversion trackingItll say unverified in your dashboard, at first, but that will change after a few hours or a day.Once youve set this up, go to the Campaigns tab and let the campaign run.CONGRATS!You just set up your first AdWords campaign!

What happens now?Not much.

What happens now?Not much.Google will first review your ad, before it starts showing it to people.Thats why it doesnt make a lot of sense to create lots of ads right away.Once you go into your account the next day and see that your ad has been approved (youll also receive an email from Google), you can start creating more ads by copying your original ad. That way, you can avoid going through the approval process all over again.

What happens now?

Go to the Ads tab.

What happens now?Select your ad, in the checkbox and click Edit, then Copy.

What happens now?Then, do the same and click Paste (or just press Cmd/Ctrl+V).

Then, you can click on your copied ad and modify it. Change the headline and copy.Paste your ad and check both boxes.

What happens now? In order to get results on AdWords, If you only run one ad and you get crappy results, you cant possibly know what would have been better,because you cant compare it to anything.Thats why you should create at least a second ad on your second day, once the first has been approved.youalways need to test different ads against each other.

the ENDDamascus on November, 8th 2016