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Google AdWords Strategy Introduction

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Page 1: Google Adwords

Google AdWordsStrategy Introduction

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AgendaQuick overview

Setting up a campaignOutperforming the competition

Monitoring your Adwords Agency

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“I don’t click on the ads, no-one I know does…”

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Google made

$21.000.000.000

on AdWords in ‘08

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It fuels an entire industry

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How does it work?

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You bid to be shown on a search query

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“If you show my ad when someone searches for ‘cell-

phones’ I’ll pay you €0.20 for each click on my ad”

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Advantages

Targetted campaigns

Full control

Suits all budgets

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Disadvantages

Learning curve

Easy to lose money

Competitive markets

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A well run AdWords campaign makes your business blossom

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Let’s set one up…… but first some terminology

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AdWords Account

CampaignAd Group

Keyword Keyword

Ad Group

Keyword Keyword

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Accountmanaging your payments

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Campaignstargetting your audiences

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Ad Groupssplitting up your audiences

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Keywordsreaching your audience

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Example:

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YourPhoneShop.Com

iPhone3G

Apple 3G iPhone 3G

3GS

Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS

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Keywords power your campaigns

but how do you find them?

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Start with a question:What problem do I fix?

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I help people buy cell phones

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Now find synonyms

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cell phones

Mobile phones

Smart phones

Cellular phones

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Feed this list to the AdWords Keyword Tool

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This returns popular keywords

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Carefully select your keywords

buy cell phonescell phonecell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phone shopcell phone storecell phonescell phones dealscell phones planscellular phone storecellular phonescheap cell phone planscheap cell phonescheap cellular phonesdisposable cell phonesmobile cell phonesprepaid cell phonesprepaid mobile phonesrefurbished cell phonesunlocked cell phoneswireless cell phones

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Hold on to those unrelated words

we’ll talk about those later!

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Sometimes I help peoplebuy specific cell phones

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iPhone 3G

iPhone 3GS

Apple iPhone

Blackberry Bold

Blackberry Storm

Blackberry Curve

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Divide the list into logical groups

Focus on your visitors question

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You’ll see this appear:Smaller groups in bigger

patterns

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Big patterns (brands, synonyms,…)

These will form your campaigns

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Small groups These will form your AdGroups

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3 Keyword match types

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Broad:Anything possibly related

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Broad Matchexample:cell phone

Cell phone

Cellular phones

Satelite phones

Telephone

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Phrase:Anything using this phrase

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Phrase matchexample:

“cell phone”

Cell phone

Cheap cell phone

Cell phone plans

Cell phone shop

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Phrase matchexample:

“cell phone”

Cell phones

Cellular phones

Mobile phones

GSM

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Exact:Exactly these words

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Exact matchexample:

[cell phone]Cell phone

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Exact matchexample:

[cell phone]

Cheap cell phone

Cell phones

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When to use which match type

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Broad

Phrase

Exact

Find new keywords

Match specific queries

Key search queries

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YourPhoneShop.Com

iPhone3G

Apple 3G iPhone 3G

3GS

Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS

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Now for the hard part…

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Ad Writing

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95 Characters

Title (25)

Line 1 (35)

Line 2 (35)

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Ad structure

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Compelling headineWhy should they notice you?

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What are your benefits?Why should they care?

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What are your features?What do you have to offer?

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Compelling headline (25)Benefits (35)Features (35)

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Example

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Amazing iPhone dealsUnlocked iPhones. Wholesale prices.Free & insured shipping. Order now!www.phonesRus.com/iPhone

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Pre-Assembled HangarsPersonalized for your business.Built in 48 hours. Guaranteed.www.frisomat.com/hangars

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What’s the competition up to?

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Industrial BuildingsSolutions for Your Small Business.Business Begins Here. www.business.com

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Industrial BuildingsIndustrial/commercial constructionspecialists. Design & build www.c21construction.co.uk

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Quality Steel Buildings Agricultural Residential Industrialbarn storage garages business use www.pembs-steelbuildings.co.uk

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Industrial BuildingsAll Kinds of Metal BuildingsGet an Unbeatable Quote Now!www.atlanticsteelbuildings.co.uk

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Steel Buildings UK All types of steel buildingsNationwide Service - Instant Quote www.GarageQuotes.com/SteelBuildings

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So what makes a winning ad?

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I don’t know.Neither does your agency, nor anyone else.

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But Google’s users do.Always test two competing ads.

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Getting your costs down.AdWords Auction 101.

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Shocking fact:The highest bidder doesn’t always end up on top.

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Quality Score

Keyword, Ad & Query

Landing page

CTR

Other factors

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QS Importance

CTR

Ad, Keywords

Landing page

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Ad Rank

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Advertiser 1:

Advertiser 2:

Advertiser 3:

€4,00 x 4 = 16

€3,00 x 7 = 21

€2,00 x 10 = 20

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Cost CalculationCPC = Ad Rank P-1 / Own QS

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Advertiser 2:

AdRank Advertiser 3

Own QualityScore

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Advertiser 2:20

= €2,867

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Advertiser 2:

Advertiser 3:

Advertiser 1:

20 / 7 = €2.86

16 / 10 = €1.60

Ad Rank P4 / Own QS

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Don’t outbid the competition.Outmanoeuvre them.

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Negative keywords

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Disableunrelated searches

cell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phones plansdisposable cell phonesprepaid cell phonesrefurbished cell phones

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Negative keywords

ProvidersRadiationPlansDisposablePrepaidRefurbished

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Increases your CTR

Decreases wasted clicks

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Landing pages

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Google loves relevance

Visitors love relevance

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The homepage:Is it really the most relevant page?

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Probably not.

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Find or buildrelevant landing pages

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Again: What’s the competition doing?

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Landing page:±10% of QS

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Relevant ads

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Continually test your ad copy

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Found a better performing ad?Delete the other one, write a new one.

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What to test?Headlines, benefits, features, display-urls

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Drive up your ads CTR

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CTR:+50% of QS

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Wage a war of attrition

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Optimize your keywords

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Optimize your ads

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Optimize your Ad Groups

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Optimize your Campaigns

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Never stop.Never surrender.

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Monitoring your agency

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Why hire an agency?

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Keeping an eye on their work:

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KeywordsDifferent match types

Use of negatives

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Ads

Focussed ads with USP

Cobwebs

Landing pages

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Ad Groups

Themed

Clear focus

Creation of new groups

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Campaigns

Location / Language

Timing

Ad Extentions

Impression Share

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Web Analytics

Bounce rates

Conversion rate

Non branded traffic

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Other factors

Transparency

Communication

Excluding branded conversions

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Talk is cheap.

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Badly run campaigns expensive.

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Thank you!