google tech for better content
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Google Technology for Better Content
Adam Howitt
www.adamhowitt.com
Adam Howitt Consulting
• M.Eng Software Engineering
• Worked for Procter & Gamble
• Moved to US in 2000
• ColdFusion Developer since 2000
• Analytics Specialist since 2004
Who Are You?
• Marketers
• Executives
• Designers / Developers– Flash? – Flex?
• Other
Overview
• Search Engine Optimization
• Google Analytics
• Goals and the Call to Action
• Tracking E-Commerce
• Tracking E-Mail /Other Campaigns
• Google Optimizer
• Google AdWords
SEO Basics
• Page titles <title>Google Analytics Specialist…</title>
• Meta descriptions <meta name="description" content= " … " >
• Headings– <h1>Google Analytics Specialist</h1>
• URLs
Dynamic SEO
• Generate titles automatically– Cardinality: specific to generic– SKU > Name > Category > Manufacturer
• Generate headings to match titles– Name SKU
• Generate meta description from abstract
How do you improve this page?
Demonstration of Analytics
• Spot the Difference Poll– Version 1
30,760 views 167 purchases– Version 2
31,601 views 484 purchases
Results
• Conversion rate: 0.54% vs. 1.53%
• 317 x $100 = $31,000 difference in 3 days
• Is it worth the 3 hours / $200 of design?
• Is it worth the 3 hours of analytics?
Google Analytics Dashboard
Why Track pages?
Tracking Code configuration
• Basic, Virtual pages, PDFs, downloads
• Sub-domains
• E-Commerce
• Email / Campaigns
• http://tinyurl.com/32bga3
Tracking Flash and Flex
• Which videos to people watch in the movie?
• Which navigation device do people use? – Old way – virtual URLs
• urchinTracker(‘/videoUI/{category}/{title’});
– New system for tracking feature usage• http://code.google.com/apis/analytics/docs/
eventTrackerGuide.html
• Tracy Spratt on tracking flex– External Interface object– http://www.cflex.net/showFileDetails.cfm?ObjectID=768
Pick a Goal
• Event Registrations – sign up
• Leads – register
• Sales – buy something
• Readership – subscribe
• Be more specific– Don’t just buy something, buy this
• Most profitable or • Underdeveloped
Why Track Goals?
Goal Setup Tips
• Be as short as possible with Head Match– http://www.mysite.com/thankyou.cfm?oid=123– /thankyou.cfm
• Aggregate different goal pages with Virtual URLS– E.g. /regForms/doc and /regForms/pdf– /regForms/
• Third party tools warning
E-Commerce Overview
E-Commerce Features
• Best performing categories
• Best performing products
• Site Overlay
Why Track Campaigns?
Campaign Features
• Determine ROI
• Does email work better than snail mail?
• Which email generated the most leads/revenue?
• Is e-mail better than pay-per-click traffic?– Consider tracking email signups as a goal
• http://tinyurl.com/2tg94n
What if you could…
• Produce candidate copy
• Run focus groups with some of your traffic
• Review the results
• Identify the best candidate
• Launch the winner
Google Website Optimizer
• Design your experiment
• Set a goal
• How much traffic to test
• Prepare candidate copy
• Identify a winner
How Optimizer Works
• X % of your traffic see the experiment• Measures conversions of each combo
– How many impressions– How many conversions– Conversions deviation
• Initially distributes combos evenly• As leaders emerge traffic is weighted• Google declares a winner• Original copy can sometimes win!
Experiment Results
Testing Notes
• Test one thing at a time• A/B testing minimizes external influences
– Publicity, campaigns, seasons
• Only A/B testers count to experiment result
What to Test?
• Images – demographic, color balance• Text – tone, audience, pace, length, emphasis• Colors (text, buttons, backgrounds)• Fonts – spacing, flow, words per line• Position of page elements• Navigation• Promotions• Pricing• Limiting distractions
Overview of Google AdWords
• Create an account– http://analytics.google.com
• Pick keywords and create ads
• You pay for each click, not impression
• Click-thru-rate (CTR) = clicks / impressions
• Add conversion page code
• Minimum $1 per day budget
• Minimum price per click $0.05
Google AdWords Traditional
• Create a Google AdWords account
• Pick 130+ keywords related to your site
• Create an Ad unit
• Consequences– Low click thru rate and suspended keywords– Expensive keywords $1.50 per click or more– Ads that aren’t continually shown– Poor conversion rates once they hit your site
Smarter Google AdWords
• Pick a page to promote
• Pick keywords found on that page
• Pick a 20 character title
• Write 2 x 30 character copy
• Choose your market and launch
AdWords Grouping and Matching
• Grouping is critical– Separate keywords into like groups– Separate groups into campaigns
• One ad unit / destination URL per group
• Exact match vs. phrase match vs. broad match
Consequences
• Cheaper ads $0.05+ vs. $1.50• E.g. 30x more impressions for $1.50
• Higher click thru rate• E.g. 30x more clicks for $1.50
• Better targeted ads– Each visitor is more likely to stay
Summary
• Build a site around a goal
• Google Analytics: Measure the results
• Google Website Optimizer: A/B Test
• Google AdWords: Drive more traffic
Use numbers to decide the fate of your website, not emotion.
References
• Google Analytics, Mary E. Tyler & Jerri Ledford– ISBN: 0470053852
• Google Analytics– http://analytics.google.com
• Google Adwords and Optimizer– http://adwords.google.com