media options. advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media...
TRANSCRIPT
Media options
Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media
Advantages Disadvantages
Potentially high impact High production costs
Capable of delivering mass audiences
Viewer receptivity being challenged
Relatively low cost per thousand Short life of messages
Growing opportunities for targeting
Relatively low cost per person reached via TV• cost per thousand (CPM) – a measure of media efficiency • calculated on basis of cost of buying media space and number
of people viewing or reading that mediaCPM = cost of ad space (absolute cost) x 1000
circulation/viewers/listeners• e.g. if a company buys a 30-second slot with RTE for €9,000
and expects 500,000 viewers to be exposed to the ad, the CPM is calculated as follows:
€9000 x 1000 = €18 500,000
Advantages and disadvantages of radio as an advertising media
Advantages Disadvantages
Relatively inexpensive High levels of noise and clutter
Selective Short life of a radio advertisement
Offers geographic segmentation
Widespread access to radio
Radio
relatively inexpensive (production and time)– 30-second slots – local radio e.g. €12.69 with
Tipperary Mid West FM; €160 for 96/103 FM in Cork.
– national radio – RTE1, 2FM, Lyric FM and Today FM charge up to €1,714 for a prime-time slot
(Source: MAPS Directory, 2002)
Measuring radio audiences
• listenership is monitored and measured through the JNLR (Joint National Listenership Research) programme
• comprises representatives of RTE, representatives of the IRTC (The Independent Radio and Television Commission), the IAPI (The Institute for Advertising Practitioners in Ireland and the AAI (The Association of Advertisers in Ireland)
Advantages and disadvantages of newspapers as an advertising media
Advantages Disadvantages
Readers can read newspapers at their own pace
Short shelf life
Allows advertisers to pursue national, regional and lifestyle segmentation
High levels of clutter and noise
Relatively low cost per thousand Concerns about print quality
Can lend credibility to the advertiser
As a purely visual media, it can be difficult to capture the reader's attention
Multiple readership
Theme of ads can be very current
Enables advertiser to convey a lot of information
Advantages and disadvantages of magazines as an advertising media
Advantages Disadvantages
The range of magazines available offers segmentation opportunities
Long lead-times
Long shelf-life High levels of clutter
Scope for creativity
Excellent print quality
Multiple readership
Suited to the carriage of sales promotions
Often read for their advertising
Magazine/newspaper circulation
• ‘The number of individuals who receive a publication through either subscription or store purchase.’ (Belch & Belch, 1999)
• primary circulation – committed to publication because they buy it
• secondary readership• ABC (Audit Bureau of Circulations)• JNRR (Joint National Readership Research)
Outdoor media
• billboards
• public transport
• mobile billboards
Advantages and disadvantages of outdoor advertising
Advantages Disadvantages
Wide coverage in specific areas High levels of wastage
Ability to make an impact Over-exposure of audience to advertisements during a campaign
High levels of repetition Short exposure time
Increasingly difficult to obtain planning permission for sites
Ambient advertising• ‘Makes the message become part of the
surrounding environment in which the consumer operates.’ (Blythe, 2000)
tickets petrol nozzlessupermarket trolleys transport vehicles – a single advertiser can cover an entire
double decker bus with a message. Known as a full wrap. employees’ carsdoors of public toiletscarrier bags aerial vehicles