online marketing safari powerpoint slides
DESCRIPTION
This presentation was given at both the National Conference on College Conference Centers 2008 and the University Continuing Education Assocation Annual Marketing Seminar 2009.TRANSCRIPT
Slides available from UCEA or by e‐mail…
ONLINE MARKETING SAFARIAttract, Track, and Capture the Elusive Web Visitor
ONLINE MARKETING SAFARIPresented byAd Mill d J h i Bl kbAdam Miller and Johnnie BlackburnFebruary 13, 2009
IntroductionsIntroductions
Ad MillAdam MillerMarketing Manager, Academic Outreach
Johnnie BlackburnMarketing Manager, Academic Outreach
You’re going on a safari!You re going on a safari!
G l A k k d CAPTURE! Goals: Attrack, track, and CAPTURE! Where do They Come From? Tools and How to Use Them Practice Makes Perfect
It’s your lucky day!It s your lucky day!
W ’ll h l f j ! We’ll help you prepare for your journey! In the beginning… Seeing the big picture Measurable Success: 58% increase in site visits 2007 to 2008 89% increase in inquiries 2007 to 2008 Cost Per Lead as Low as $4 per lead
Let’s Go!
Where are they found?Where are they found?
wwwYourCollegeSite edu www.YourCollegeSite.edu How’d they get there? Direct Traffic Direct Traffic Print /Radio/TV Ads Direct Mail Browser Bookmarks
Referral Sources Institutional Websitest tut o a ebs te Directory Sites Your students’ websites/Social Sites Partner Sites Partner Sites E‐mail Links
Where are they found?Where are they found?
H ’d h h ? How’d they get there? Online Advertising
B Ad Banner Ads Search Engines Organic SearchOrganic Search Paid Search
How do you know?y Website Analytics like (free) Google Analytics
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What will you need?What will you need?
A l i Analytics Number of Visits (unique vs cumulative)G hi l L i f Vi i Geographical Location of Visitors
Funnels / GoalsR f l S Referral Sources
Keywords
What tools will you need?What tools will you need?
L di P / I i F Landing Pages / Inquiry Forms DefinitionM h j il dd ! More than just an e‐mail address!
AdvantagesL d G ti Lead Generation
Measurability Control InfoControl Info Universal Access Internal Routingg Automation of Conversation
What tools will you need?What tools will you need?
L di P / I i F Landing Pages / Inquiry Forms DefinitionM h j il dd ! More than just an e‐mail address!
AdvantagesL d G ti Lead Generation
Measurability Control InfoControl Info Universal Access Internal Routingg Automation of Conversation
What tools will you need?What tools will you need?
S h E i O i i i Search Engine Optimization DefinitionQ i k Ti Quick Tips Title Tags Description Tags Description Tags Keywords in the Text
Consultants Consultants
Title Tag IllustrationTitle Tag Illustration
S h E i O i i i Search Engine Optimization DefinitionQ i k Ti Quick Tips Title Tags Description Tags Description Tags Keywords in the Text
Consultants Consultants
What tools will you need?What tools will you need?
S h E i M k i Search Engine Marketing Pay Per Click Advertising (PPC)
Biddi K d Bidding on Keywords Writing Your Ad Text Creating Personas Creating Personas Deciding How Much to Bid
Pay Per Lead Advertising (PPL)Pay Per Lead Advertising (PPL) Advantages – ROI, Measurability, Geo‐Targeting Jungle Guide (or when to get a consultant)g ( g )
Capture the PrizeCapture the Prize
Y l i l h ? Your tools are in place, now what? Benchmark Your Data with Others
Ed Cli k Th R Q&A Eduventures Click Thru Rate Q&A In‐House Benchmarking Study
Banner ad campaignsBanner ad campaigns
Average
0 35%
0.40%
0.45%
0.25%
0.30%
0.35%
0 10%
0.15%
0.20% Average
0.00%
0.05%
0.10%
Survey AL.com NSTA Chronicle AJC
PPC campaignsPPC campaigns
2.00%
Average Average
0 80%1.00%1.20%1.40%1.60%1.80%
0 80%1.00%
Average
0.00%0.20%0.40%0.60%0.80%
AO Survey
0.00%0.20%0.40%0.60%0.80%
AO Survey
Average
Capture the PrizeCapture the Prize
Y l i l h ? Your tools are in place, now what? Benchmark Your Data with OthersT k D P O Ti Track Data Patterns Over Time Visits Conversions / Conversion Rate Conversions / Conversion Rate Most effective time of day, day of week, etc. For PPC, Keyword PerformanceFor PPC, Keyword Performance
PPC campaignsPPC campaignsMSW PPC Inquiries
25
30
35
Campaign Expired
15
20
25
0
5
10MSW Inquiries
Monitoring KeywordsContracted Clicks
CampaignContracted
Clicks Clicks
To-Date Top 5 Keywords To-date ClicksSocial Work (MSW) 1320 159 university of alabama msw 21
bamabydistance.ua.edu 15MSW 13social work degrees 12Alabama MSW 8Alabama MSW 8
Top Weekly Keywords (1/26-2/1) Clicks
i i f l b 14university of alabama msw 14Alabama distance learning msw 5bamabydistance.ua.edu 5bamabydistance.ua.edu 5MSW 5Social Work Programs 5
Inquiries Generated Rate13 20.31%
Capture the PrizeCapture the Prize
Y l i l h ? Your tools are in place, now what? Benchmark Your Data with OthersT k D P O Ti Track Data Patterns Over Time Visits Conversions / Conversion Rate Conversions / Conversion Rate Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page VariationsTest Landing Page Variations
Original Request Information Information Form
New Request Information Form
Test Results‐Surprisingp g
Capture the PrizeCapture the Prize
Y l i l h ? Your tools are in place, now what? Benchmark Your Data with OthersT k D P O Ti Track Data Patterns Over Time Visits Conversions / Conversion Rate Conversions / Conversion Rate Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page VariationsTest Landing Page Variations Determine ROI
Determining ROIDetermining ROI
O ll AO CPL A 8 /L d Overall AO CPL = Approx. $89/Lead Overall PPC CPL = Approx. $50/Lead What’s a Lead Worth to You? Each AO Lead worth Approx. $240/Lead Overall ROI = ($240‐$89)/$89 = 169% PPC ROI = ($240‐$50)/$50 = 380%PPC ROI ($240 $50)/$50 380%
Capture the PrizeCapture the Prize
Y l i l h ? Your tools are in place, now what? Benchmark Your Data with OthersT k D P O Ti Track Data Patterns Over Time Visits Conversions / Conversion Rate Conversions / Conversion Rate Most effective time of day, day of week, etc.
Test Landing Page VariationsTest Landing Page Variations Determine ROI Optimize, Optimize, OptimizeOptimize, Optimize, Optimize Develop a Relationship with Your Leads!!!
Customer Relationship MgtCustomer Relationship Mgt
How do you manage leads? How do you manage leads? Automation – E‐mail Personal Phone Calls (In House/Out Sourced) Personal Phone Calls (In‐House/Out‐Sourced) Direct Mail (personalized?) E‐Newsletters E‐Newsletters
Customer Relationship MgtCustomer Relationship Mgt
AO’s CRM System: Orion AO s CRM System: Orion Inquiry Forms Cases & Contacts Cases & Contacts Templates Analytics Analytics E‐Mail Automation / Communication Plans
Congratulations!Congratulations!You’re ready to capture your big You re ready to capture your big
trophy…
The elusive web visitor!
Let’s Explore the Jargon JungleLet s Explore the Jargon Jungle…
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:A web page designed specifically to cater to the
f h h h b finterests of those searching the web for a specific product or service offered by your
i ti It ll h ti i ff organization. It usually has an enticing offer and a strong call to action.
Question:What is a Landing Page?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:A piece of HTML code that places descriptive
f h l b h finformation in the title bar at the top of browser windows. Also, the most important i f i f f h ipiece of info for search engines.
Question:What is a Title Tag?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:A search term of five or more words used by a
h f d fsearcher to find a very specific organization or service.
Question:What is a Long‐Tail Keyword?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:Another website that contains a link to your
bwebsite.
Question:What is a Referral Source?f
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:Free or purchased software designed to track
b ff f l k dweb traffic, referral sources, key words, etc.
Question:What is an Analytics Program?y g
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:The process of intentionally writing and d b b l ddesigning web content to be easily and correctly indexed by search engines.
Question:What is SEO or Search Engine Optimization?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:Advertising purchased on search engines. The
d l h d h b fadvertiser is only charged when a web surfer clicks on the ad.
Question:What is PPC or Pay Per Click Advertising?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:The “free” search results for any given keyword
ll l d h l bl k h– usually located in the largest block on the left‐hand side of a search engine.
Question:What is Organic Search?
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:The search engine that currently commands
% f h ff h70% of search traffic on the Internet.
Question:What is Google.com?g
Jargon Jungle JeopardyJargon Jungle Jeopardy
AAnswer:A series of theoretical traits or characteristics
h b d d d dput together to better understand and predict the search patterns of various web visitors.
Question:What is a persona?
Questions?Questions?Slides available from UCEA or by e‐mail…y
Thank you!Thank you!
Adam Miller Johnnie Blackburnda e Jo e ac [email protected] [email protected](205) 348‐7587 (205) 348‐5991(205) 348 7587 (205) 348 5991
The University of AlabamaThe University of AlabamaCollege of Continuing StudiesBox 870388Box 870388Tuscaloosa, AL 35487‐0388www BamaByDistance ua eduwww.BamaByDistance.ua.edu