spacc it day azul7 analytics presentation
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Web Analytics: Understanding Visitor Behavior
May 6, 2009
(and how this relates to the bottom line)
Agenda
Web Analytics
» Getting started
» What the H*** are KPIs?
» Keeping it simple
» Communicating
» Questions
Why Should I Measure?
» Are you spending money on your website/web presence?
» Are you expecting your website to sell products or generate sales
leads?
» Do your business goals involve an online channel?
5
Why Should I Measure?
» 1.3B internet users worldwide
» Nearly 75% of US Households
subscribe to an internet service
» 92% of households with annual
incomes over $70K are internet
subscribers2
» 55% of all US Households have
high-speed Internet Access3
Without getting overwhelmed
Getting Started
What is “Web Analytics”
» Using a variety of data sources to understand how online
audiences are finding you, using your site, interacting with you,
buying or researching your products.
+ Are you visible online?
+ Is your website working?
+ Are your audiences engaged?
+ Are you meeting your business goals?
Your Tool Kit
» Analytics software/technology
» People
» Practices + Process
Analytics Technology—Lots of Vendors Out There
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If Nothing Else….Remember This
Get Access
» Find out who has the keys to the treasure chest and go get them
+ IT
+ Your ISP
+ Your marketing dept
+ Somebody knows!
People
» It’s hard to find people who have experience in online
measurement
» Even fortune 1000 companies are struggling to measure their
online properties
» Hire consultants
» Build expertise in-house
March 2007 Global SurveyWeb Analytics Demystified Research Covering Global Use andAttitudes about Web Analytics Technology and Processes
Process
» The web is only 16 years old
» Companies have only been treating online as a serious business
channel for 5 or so years
» Best practices are still being developed and will vary by industry
vertical and by individual business
Simplified Process
Step 1: Define what you want to measure
+ We call these KPIs (Key Performance Indicators)
Step 2: Assign who is responsible for measuring
Step 3: Determine your tools that will provide measurement data
+ Quite often it is not just software, sometimes you need human feedback
Step 4: Put in place system to gather, interpret, document and
communicate how you are doing against your KPIs
Advise
» It’s more important to start measuring something to create a
measurement practice within your organization … rather than trying
to measure just the right data
What should I measure?
What the H*** are KPIs?
KPIs
» Most Simply:
+ You want to get MORE ______?______
» Leads, Sales, Visitors, Downloads, Click-Throughs, Etc.
+ You want to get LESS ______?______
» Errors, Abandonments, Un-subscribes, Customer Complaints
What Can We Measure?
» From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info)
+ Where visitors came from (site, search engine, advertisement)
+ What words they used to search and find your site
+ Where they came from (location)
+ Time of day
+ How long they stayed
+ What content they were interested in
+ Where they went next
+ With added tools – whether they have been there before
What Can’t We Measure
» From Server Logs (Basic Online Site Info)
+ Who the individual is unless you set up a login account or find some
other way to entice users to give your information about who they are
+ If they are a returning visitor when they delete cookies (little bits of
code that tell us that a particular computer has access our site
information before)
» Some anti-spy software deletes cookies automatically
Server Log Information
» This is basic data on site performance, not KPIs that drive business
» Server logs give us valuable information but it is usually not enough
to decide if marketing programs are working or not
+ Just because there is more traffic to a site, doesn’t mean there are
more leads generated or more sales being made.
Fancier Systems
» Use Page Tagging in combination with log files to tell us such things
as:
+ Performance of online advertising in relation to site traffic and conversion
+ Do customers buy?
+ If they don’t buy, why?
+ Who’s talking about you online in blogs and social media
+ How all your customer touch points (from your call center to your bricks
and mortar shop, align with online sales) to give you customer lifetime
value information.
KPIs
» http://www.epmreview.com/KPI-Library.html
Objective
Increase customer satisfaction / loyalty through quality products & services
KPI Number of visits to customers Response rate Customer-loyalty index Number of customer complaints Customers lost (in number or %) Customer retention Number of negative feedbacks from customers Annual sales per customer Response time
ObjectiveIncrease revenue from common customers
KPI Annual sales per customers Average customer size Customers per employee Customer service expense per year
Objective Increase the market share KPI Current market share
Sales volume Sales per channel Frequency of sales transactions
General KPIs
» Average Order Value (AOV) =
$__Total Revenue /___# of orders
$1,000,000 total revenue / 438 orders =
$2,283 AOV
General KPIs
» Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) =
$__Average Order Value x __ # of orders by
Customer per year x ___ Number of Years for
Customer
$2,283 x 3 = $6,849 x 3 = $20,547 CLV
General KPIs
» Contribution Margin =
Amount you’ll invest to to get a new customer —
20-25% of AOV is common
For our $2,283 in revenue, we can expect to
spend around $457—$570
General KPIs
Cost-Per-Acquisition or Cost-Per-Action (CPA) =
$__Customer Lifetime Value (CLV) x 20%
Contribution Margin (CM)
$20,547 x .20 = $4,109 CPA
General KPIs
Close Rate (CR)
– ratio of how many leads become customers) =
__Customers / Leads = ___ x 100 = ____% Close
Rate (CR)
34 customers /100 leads = .34 x 100 = 34% CR
General KPIs
Cost-Per-Lead (CPL) =
$___ CPA x _____% Close Rate
$4,109 x .34 = $1397 CPL
Value of KPIs
» Am I measuring the right things?
» Am I spending the right money in the right places?
» Where am I getting the best return?
» Where do I have a competitive advantage?
If this is too much…
Keeping it simple
If That Last Bit Was Overwhelming…Don’t “Frees Out”
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Go Back To This
Crawl, Walk, Run
» Set up soft conversions
+ Top content viewed on the site
+ Keywords searched to find you
+ Visitor location
» Set up hard site conversions
+ Form submissions
+ File download
+ Inbound phone call
+ Newsletter open rate
Without getting overwhelmed
Communicating
This is NOT a Report
Report Looks Like this
» We’ve seen a 15 % visitor
drop off rate on our technical
publication downloads.
» Recommendation: Simplify
form to eliminate address
requirement and test for 30
days.
» Goal: Improve form
completion rate by 20%
Analytics: Just Get Started
Step 1: Assign responsibility
Step 2: Define what you want to measure – business objectives
Step 3: Define the process (who, how, what)
Step 4: Collect data and review to see you have the right information
Step 5: Evaluate if your reports are useful and being used - refine
Step 6: Evaluate if you have the right resources - refine
Step 7: Use your analysis to inform further marketing/ops investment
Test, refine and implement (continual process)
Thank You!
Lisa Helminiak
Principal | Strategist
Twitter: helmin7
Email: [email protected]
» View a copy of this presentation at www.azul7.com/blog
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Thank You for Participating
Questions?