state of the industry: mobile survey presented april 22, 2010 emarketer conference
Post on 22-Dec-2015
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TRANSCRIPT
Purpose:Check current vital signs
Look inside the brains of the industry
Help the industry see what’s aheadSo they can plan accordingly
Nearly 1000 RespondentsTotal Respondents
Agencies/ MarketersPublishersTechnologistsAdvertisers/ Brands
341 Agencies, Marketers
115 Brands
194 Technologists
308 Publishers
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=140 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
33% increase on average25% said greater than 50%10% said greater than 100%21% said 10%
Subtracting those who said 0-1%, only 6% of total respondents are decreasing their mobile budget.
Agencies: By What Percent Will Your Mobile Business Change in 2010?
94% of agency respondents say their mobile ad spend is increasing.
Agency Outlook on Mobile Spending
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=90/118 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
• Agencies reported a 2009 average of$143K.
• 2010 Spend jumped 80% to $260K.
Brands: Mobile transactions are just beginning. Less than 10% now
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=34 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
But20% of respondents say more than half their customer interactions are mobile
Brands: Mobile interactions are just beginning. Less than 10% now
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=34 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
But20% of respondents say more than half their customer interactions are mobile
Why Will Brands Increase Spending?
• “We simply want to be where are customers are, and more and more are mobile in both the consumer space and the b-to-b space, so we’ll be building out that mobile presence—in 2010 the focus in on making a compelling mobile Web experience in almost 200 countries worldwide.”
- Jay Dark, worldwide manager of mobile marketing, Hewlett-Packard, Palo Alto, CA
Vast Majority of Brands Predict Rise in Mobile Customer Interactions
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=33 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Higher by an average of 64%
Fewer by an average of 16%
Look for 2010 Mobile Brand Budgets to Double in Aggregate
2009 ($)
2010 ($)
0 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 700,000 800,000
Q1 Brand Spending Est.
$268,999
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=20 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
$679,744
More than 20% will spend more than 10% on Mobile this year!
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Non-Mobile Marketers N=69 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Non-Mobile Content
Mostly Incremental Spending, But Online Will Decrease for 26%
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=89 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
But online is most likely to give ground to fund mobile marketing.
Newbies
Key Questions Going Forward
• What are my marketing goals and how can mobile help?
• How much do I need to spend to accomplish those goals?
• How do I tie mobile into a 360 marketing plan?
PUBLISHERS:HOW DO WE MONETIZE ALL OF THIS GREAT NEW MOBILE CONTENT?
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Most Mobile Revenue is Ad Supported
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Mobile Most Often Sold Separately
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But almost as often it’s bundled or a “value add”
Pricing Varies Widely
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• CPC $.05-$.50• CPA $5-$50• CPM $3-$30• Sponsorship $6-100k/month
Publishers: Seek More Revenue
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Only 25% of MOBILE Publishers sell out more than half their inventory
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=143 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
…demographics received the most “most important” votes.
Suggested: Precision, Measurability, and Timeliness
For Agencies, Context/Content Leads Choice of Most Important Factors in Mobile Media Buy
But How is Success Measured? CPA, CTR Received Most Top Rankings From Agencies;
Engagement Higher on Average
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=143 Agencies Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Agencies: Most Conversions Tracked In-House
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=137 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Others: Unique coupon codes, SMS, Comscore
CPA/CPL Leads in Buying Preference
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Agencies N=135 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
CPC Heavily favored write-in
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=33 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Content Leads as “Most Important” with Reach Ahead in the #2 Ranking
Brands: What’s MOSTImportant in Your Mobile Media Buy?
For Brands: Content Quality is the Differentiator
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=27 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Though measuring conversions is buyers’ major pain point, reporting metrics doesn’t factor in selecting a mobile campaign facilitator
Participate in a Mobile Ad Network
Agencies
Brands
Publishers
0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80
% Yes
% Yes
58.1%
71%
47.9%
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=117, 31, 144 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
If You Use a Mobile Network, How Many?
Agencies
Publishers
Brands
0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40
>ThreeThreeTwoOne
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=26, 71, 82 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Ad Nets Account for Nearly 60% of Publisher’s Mobile Ad Sales
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=100 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
But would prefer to sell more through internal sales team….
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=94 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
71.3% Say ROI is higher from internal sales
18.1% say comparable
10.6% say network ROI is higher
Agencies: Metrics Represents Biggest Pain Point, Handset Jungle Not Far Behind
MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=131 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010
Conclusions• Mobile advertising will see healthy spending
increases• Publisher traffic will still continue to out pace
spend• Rich Media and App Sponsorships will help
publishers engage their internal sales• Ad networks will remain critical in food chain
with continued increases in traffic• Better reporting tools, ad units and targeting will
help fuel brands/agencies adoption
What’s next…..• Online brands, networks and players entering the
space quickly• Continued and significant smart phone growth
– Especially Android…..• Uniformed metrics and buy side tools• Better reporting tools, ad units and targeting will
help fuel brands/agencies adoption• Mobile commerce, ticketing and couponing