technology venture creation (elec5701) sept12

38
david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz assert(CPA < LTV) - the most important line of code David Jones http://slideshare.net/djinoz/ @djinoz Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701) SEPT12

Upload: yaphet

Post on 16-Jan-2016

41 views

Category:

Documents


0 download

DESCRIPTION

Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701) SEPT12. assert(CPA < LTV) - the most important line of code David Jones http://slideshare.net/djinoz/ @djinoz. Personal experience from startups. OEM. Channel. Consumer. Enterprise. EmU Tech. 2000. 2003. 2004. 2006. 2009. 2011/ 2012. - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

assert(CPA < LTV) - the most important line of code

David Joneshttp://slideshare.net/djinoz/@djinoz

Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)

SEPT12

Page 2: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Personal experience from startups

OEMOEM ChannelChannel EnterpriseEnterprise ConsumerConsumer

EmU TechEmU Tech2000

20032004

2006

2009

High Touch Low TouchHigh Touch Low Touch

2011/2012

Page 3: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12
Page 4: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV)

Even if you could build Twitter/Instagram - in Australia you’d never get it funded.

Aussie VCs will look at 150+ deals/year but fund 2-5 companies

Aussie angel increasing but still conservative and sparse.

2012 Update: Maybe Blackbird is a game-changer

Corollary: Aussie startups don’t have luxury of unlimited venture, so frame your “Business Models” from the beginning.

Page 5: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

(Ye olde) Funding Model for:Web 1.0, Enterprise S/W, Deep IP, Rockstar Founders

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Australia:Not a great track record here

X

Page 6: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Lean but not starving - revenue is a the best deodorantBEWARE: Of Market Changes, Slow Execution, Too Few Customers…a common “underfunded aussie story”.

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Trough of Despair

X

Page 7: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

How to avoid the “trough of despair”?

Ideas?

Page 8: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Revenue is a deodorant

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 9: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Your Product is not your product(Ash Muraya)

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

CustomerAcquisition

& Monetization

CustomerAcquisition

& Monetization

The ActualProduct

The ActualProduct

Page 10: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Product vs Sales Matrix

Product needs selling, strong sales piece. This is a sales-driven company.

Product sells itself, strong sales piece. This is ideal. 

Product sells itself, no sales effort. Does not exist.

Product needs selling, no sales effort. You have no revenue.

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Thielhttp://blakemasters.tumblr.com/post/22405055017/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-9-notes-essay

Page 11: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV)

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Thielhttp://blakemasters.tumblr.com/post/22405055017/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-9-notes-essay

The Metrics you need:• Customer lifetime value (LTV sometimes CLV)

• Average revenue per user (per month/year), or ARPU

• Retention rate (monthly, decay function), or r

• Churn (the opposite of Retention!)• Average customer lifetime, which is 1 / (1-r)

• Cost per customer acquisition, or CPA

• Retention cost (customer support, 3rd parties, ops costs)

Page 12: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

The Basic Math

• LTV = ARPU x Average Lifetime of a Customer – the Cost to Serve them (COGS)

• Where ARPU = Average Revenue Per User and Average Lifetime of a Customer = 1/Churn Rate.

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 13: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) Engines of Growth

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Rieshttp://www.startuplessonslearned.com/2008/09/three-drivers-of-growth-for-your.html

• Paid• Sticky• Viral

Page 14: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) Paid Engine of Growth

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Thielhttp://blakemasters.tumblr.com/post/22405055017/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-9-notes-essay

Enterprise spam/virus cloud solution that filters email

ARPU: $200 per month

Customers on average stay with you for 18 months.

Margin after channel partners and operational costs is 50%

The LTV is = 200 * 18 * 50% = $1800

You use Google Adwords to acquire users is $500

So you are $1300 aheadBut not sticky if Google release free email with filtering (low switch cost)

Page 15: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) Sticky Engine of Growth

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Thielhttp://blakemasters.tumblr.com/post/22405055017/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-9-notes-essay

Same solution, but more sticky by offering “archiving”

ARPU: $200 per month

Customers on average stay with you for 36 months.

Margin after channel partners and operational costs is 50%

The LTV is = 200 * 36 * 50% = $3600

You use Google Adwords to acquire users is $500

So you are $3100 ahead

Page 16: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) Retention & Churn

• LEAKY BUCKET is the enemy of LTV

• Particularly devastating in Consumer/Social• Punters leave before you monetise them

• Enterprise tends to be stickier because of corporate dynamics.

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 17: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) LTV’s in startups

• How can you possibly know LTV at the start?• Everything in Dave McClures AARRR

• (Acquisition, Activation, Retention, Referral Revenue)

• In consumer measure rates:• crossing free to paid• In-app purchase rates

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 18: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

assert(CPA < LTV) Viral Engine of Growth

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Credit: Thielhttp://blakemasters.tumblr.com/post/22405055017/peter-thiels-cs183-startup-class-9-notes-essay

Add a Default Footer: “Filtered by Mail Filter X”

ARPU: $200 per month

Customers on average stay with you for 36 months.

Margin after channel partners and operational costs is 50%

The LTV is = 200 * 36 * 50% = $3600

You use Google Adwords to acquire users is $100

So you are $3500 ahead OK, not a killer viral engine but you get the idea – just a non-Facebook example ;)

Page 19: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Tip of the day:

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

NONE OF THAT MATTERS

Page 20: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Validation Tip of the day: Look them deeply in the eye and ask for money

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 21: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Validation Tip of the day: Look them deeply in the eye and ask for money

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Because if you can’t get to product/market fityou will never get to sustained ARPU

1.You will never get initial purchases2.If you do, the leaky bucket has a big hole.

Page 22: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

The Business Model drives the Business Plan

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Product Focus: Core Utility

Company Focus: Right Business Model

The “right” business model takes iteration. But this BM framework prescribes what activities you SHOULD focus on (the business plan being covered by Ryan Junee)

Page 23: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 24: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

The Business Model Canvas

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 25: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 26: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 27: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 28: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

ThreatMetrix early BM (fail)

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Security incident/infection data

Security incident/infection data

Security VendorsSecurity Vendors

CERTS&Governm

CERTS&Governm

TelcosTelcos

Big Data aggregation& combine

Big Data aggregation& combine

Talented Programmers

Talented Programmers

Talented SecurityStaff

Talented SecurityStaff

Super Super Large DataProcessing Reqs(boil the ocean problem)

Super Super Large DataProcessing Reqs(boil the ocean problem)

Business Development

Business Development

Security VendorsSecurity Vendors

Banks?eCommerce?

Banks?eCommerce?

BotNet Detection will make you more secure

BotNet Detection will make you more secure

White Label OEM in Security Products

White Label OEM in Security Products

Ummm? (2-sided market problem)Ummm? (2-sided market problem)

Flat Monthly Fee (peril of OEM)

Flat Monthly Fee (peril of OEM)

Can this Scale?Can this Scale?

BizDevBizDev

ConferencesConferences

Page 29: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

ThreatMetrix 2008-2011

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

MarketingEvangelism Awareness

MarketingEvangelism Awareness

Data Center Support

Data Center Support

Geo Data Providers

Geo Data Providers

PerTransaction Assessment

PerTransaction Assessment

Talented Programmers

Talented Programmers

Talented SecurityStaff

Talented SecurityStaff

Super Super Large DataProcessing Reqs

Super Super Large DataProcessing Reqs

BanksBanks

RealtimeSaaS Fraud Protection for eCommerce

RealtimeSaaS Fraud Protection for eCommerce

Payment ProcessorsPayment Processors

Upfront Purchase Transaction Blocks

Upfront Purchase Transaction Blocks

BizDevBizDev

ConferencesConferences

Credit Card CompaniesCredit Card Companies

Resellers in new Territories

Resellers in new Territories

Security DataSecurity Data

eCommerceeCommerce

Social & DatingSocial & Dating

Cloud ServiceSoftware

Cloud ServiceSoftware

Customer Transactions are accretive

Customer Transactions are accretive

Device Intelligence

Device Intelligence

AutorenewAutorenew

Research/DMResearch/DM

Webinars/Demos/EvalsClose/Customer Service

Webinars/Demos/EvalsClose/Customer Service

Page 30: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Summary: Benefits of BM Canvas

• Won’t stop you being deluded• Won’t stop you arguing black==white

BUT• Surfaces assumptions• Structures dependencies• Scopes debate• Use it to test the logic of a new activity

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Page 31: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Drill-in Example 1

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Key PartnersWho are our Key Partners?Who are our key suppliers?Which Key Resources are we acquiring from partners?Which Key Activities do partners perform?

motivations for partnerships:Optimization and economyReduction of risk and uncertaintyAcquisition of particular resources and activities

Page 32: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Drill-in Example 2

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Cost StructureWhat are the most important costs inherent in our business model? Which Key Resources are most expensive? Which Key Activities are most expensive?is your business more:Cost Driven (leanest cost structure, low price value proposition, maximum automation, extensive outsourcing) Value Driven ( focused on value creation, premium value proposition)

sample characteristics:Fixed Costs (salaries, rents, utilities) Variable costs Economies of scale Economies of scope

Page 33: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

Questions?

Page 34: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

The local startup community is building:StartupCamp, Startup Weekend, SiliconBeach

StartMate, MentorConnect, SeedAccelerator, Fishburners

Courses like this….

Lots of global information

Aussie “mafia” in Silicon ValleyStartupHouse

Links into CRV

Southern Cross presence

Good News…

Page 35: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Paper MVP vs Hacked MVP

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

The jury is still out but hacked MVP

gives more accurate CustDev feedback

The jury is still out but hacked MVP

gives more accurate CustDev feedback

Page 36: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

Focus or FailIf you have limited resources and cash reserves then focus is yourmost valuable discipline – if your hypothesis wrong at least you “fail fast”

david DOT jones AT gmail DOT com | skype://djinoz | Cell:+61 412 683 111 | @djinoz

(picture credit: Mick Liubinskas/Pollenizer)

Don’t let Perfect be the Enemy of the

Good

Don’t let Perfect be the Enemy of the

Good

Page 37: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

MarketProductTeam

Ye Olde Startup Funding Model(too early to talk about but I know your thinking about it)

@djinoz [email protected]

TeamMarketProduct

Page 38: Technology Venture Creation (ELEC5701)  SEPT12

New, New Angel Funding Model

@djinoz [email protected]

NavalAngelList

NavalAngelList