wordcamp phoenix 2012 google adwords ppc keyword & campaign strategy

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DRIVING CONVERSIONS WITH PAID SEARCH 1 Scott Yacko & Jonathan Kressaty WordCamp Phoenix 2012

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Scott Yacko and Jonathan Kressaty's presentation on PPC Keyword & Campaign strategies using Google Adwords at WordCamp Phoenix 2012.

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Page 1: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

DRIVING CONVERSIONSWITH PAID SEARCH

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Scott Yacko & Jonathan Kressaty

WordCamp Phoenix 2012

Page 2: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WHAT IS PPC ADVERTISING?_ PPC stands for “Pay-Per-Click”

_ PPC is an online advertising model where advertisers pay only when an ad is clicked

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Page 3: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WHY USE PPC?_ Instant first page placement

_ You only advertise to people who are looking for what you have right now

_ You only pay when they respond - when they click through to your site

_ Pricing is determined by an ongoing, real-time auction based on true market values

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Page 4: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

MAJOR PPC NETWORKS

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Google Adwords

Microsoft AdCenter Facebook

Page 5: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?_ Adwords is a platform

that allows advertisers to display ads in search results or web content on a CPC or CPM basis

_ Adwords is for Advertisers, Adsense is for Publishers

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GoogleProperties

SearchPartners

ContentPublishers

Includes:_ Tesco_ Ask.com_ AOL_ BT_ Virgin Net_ NTL World

Includes:_ Google_ Google

Product Search_ Gmail_ YouTube

Includes:_ New York

Times Online_ NTL_ Daily Mail_ Virgin

Page 6: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

GOOGLE AD NETWORKS

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Search Network

Display Network Video Ads

Search AdDisplay Ad(Image Ad)

Video Ad(YouTube)

Page 7: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

ANATOMY OF ASEARCH RESULTS PAGE

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Search QueryPaid Search

Results

OrganicSearch Results

(Ranking determined by “relevance”)

Page 8: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

SEARCH CAMPAIGNSTRUCTURE

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Campaign

Ad Group Ad Group Ad Group

Text Ads

Keywords

KW Bids

Text Ads

Keywords

KW Bids

Geographic TargetingLanguage TargetingDaily BudgetDevice TargetingDay Partitioning

3 Critical Componentsof an Adwords Campaign}

}

Page 9: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

CAMPAIGN SETUP

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Page 10: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

CREATING AN AD GROUP

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Create Ads

Enter Keywords

Page 11: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

GREAT AD GROUPS STARTWITH KEYWORDS_ Identify your ideal prospect

_ Do thorough keyword research

_ Look at your competition

_ Use proper match types

_ Use negative keywords

_ Keep ad groups “tightly targeted”

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Page 12: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

GETTING STARTEDWITH KEYWORDS_ Think of your ideal prospect (very specific)

_ Ex: “My ideal prospect is someone who has a large collection of CDs, recently purchased an MP3 player, and wants someone else to convert the CDs to MP3 for them.”

_ Write down a list of 10 keywords such that you believe one in

three people searching for each term would be your ideal prospect

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Page 13: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool

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RelativeCompetition

SearchVolume

Page 14: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Keyword Tool

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Page 15: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

BUILDING A KEYWORD LISTGoogle Adwords > Reporting & Tools > Traffic Estimator

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EstimatedDaily Cost

EnterKeywords

Enter a Max CPC and budget

Set Geo & Language Targeting

Page 16: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

KEYWORDMATCHING OPTIONS

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Match Type: Shows For Queries:

Use Phrase and Exact Match to Improve CTR & ROI

EXACT MATCHEx. [Red Shoes] Red Shoes

BROAD MATCHEx. Red Shoes

Red Shoes, Red, Shoes,Green Shoes, Red Rocks

PHRASE MATCHEx. “Red Shoes”

Red Shoes, Nike Red Shoes, Buy Red Shoes

Page 17: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

USING NEGATIVE KEYWORDS

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NegativeMatches:

software, burner

Page 18: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

NEGATIVE MATCH KEYWORDSAd Group > Keywords > See Search Terms

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Negative Matches:hardware, vortexbox

Page 19: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

KEYWORD LISTBUILDING STRATEGY_ Start with a small list of 10-20 keywords that fit your ideal prospect

_ Use only “Phrase” and [Exact] match

_ Monitor your actual search terms

_ Add -Negative keywords where appropriate

_ Add additional [Exact] match keywords where appropriate

_ Repeat, Repeat, Repeat...

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Page 20: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

KEEP AD GROUPSTIGHTLY TARGETED

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WHY?

Page 21: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

GOOGLE QUALITY SCORE

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Quality Score(X/10)

+CTR

LandingPage

AdText Keyword

Page 22: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

SEARCH AD RANKAd Rank = Quality Score x Bid

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3

4

5678

Page 23: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

SEARCH AD RANKAd Rank = Quality Score x Bid

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ADVERTISER ABid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25

POSITION #1

ADVERTISER BBid = $0.50QS = 10AR = 0.50 x 10AR = 5.00

POSITION #2

ADVERTISER CBid = $1.00QS = 4AR = 1.00 x 4AR = 4.00

POSITION #3

Page 24: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

HOW MUCH WILL I PAY?

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Actual Cost = Ranking Score of Position Below

Quality Score of Your Ad+ $0.01

ADVERTISER ABid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25

POSITION #1(5.00/7)+0.01

CPC = 0.72

ADVERTISER BBid = $0.50QS = 10AR = 0.50 x 10AR = 5.00

POSITION #2(4.00/10-)+0.01

CPC = 0.41

ADVERTISER CBid = $1.00QS = 4AR = 1.00 x 4AR = 4.00

POSITION #3(2.50/4-)+0.01

CPC = 0.64

Page 25: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

HOW DO I ACHIEVE A HIGH QS?_ Keep Ad Groups Small and Targeted

_ Write Targeted Ads

_ Landing Page Relevance

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Page 26: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WHAT IF ADVERTISER ARAISES ITS QS TO 10?

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OPTIMIZEDBid = $0.75QS = 10AR = 0.75 x 10AR = 7.50

POSITION #1(5.00/10)+0.01

CPC = 0.51

BASELINEBid = $0.75QS = 7AR = 0.75 x 7AR = 5.25

POSITION #1(5.00/7)+0.01

CPC = 0.72

VS.A 29.2%

Reductionin Cost!

Page 27: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WRITING TARGETED ADS_ Include keywords in the ad text

_ Include a differentiator

_ Include a call to action (if appropriate)

_ Choose the right landing page

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Page 28: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

USE YOUR KEYWORDSIN YOUR ADS

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Search Terms arebolded in ads

Include a differentiator

Page 29: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

CHOOSE THE RIGHTLANDING PAGE_ Home Page or Deep Linking?

_ As a general rule, the fewest clicks to achieve a conversion is best.

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Page 30: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

EXAMPLESearch Term: Hedge Trimmer

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Page 31: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

EXAMPLESearch Term: Hedge Trimmer

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Page 32: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

KEYWORD BIDDING STRATEGY_ Know what a visitor to your site is worth

_ Calculate your break-even

_ Set a target ROI for your advertising

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Page 33: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

WHAT IS A VISITOR WORTH?_ Average Sale Revenue = $150

_ My Costs (Materials, Labor, Shipping) = $100

_ Average Margin = $50 per sale

_ Website Conversion Rate = 2%

_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00 (This is your break-even)

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Page 34: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

CALCULATING YOUR MAX CPC_ Each visitor is worth $50 x 0.02 = $1.00

_ I want to make 30% ROI on my advertising $

_ My Max CPC should be $1 x (100% - 30%)

_ Max Bid = $0.70

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TIP: Bid $0.02 above round numbers (Max Bid = $0.72)

Page 35: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

CAMPAIGN OPTIMIZATION

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_ Improve Quality Score_ Split Test Ad Copy_ Adjust Keyword Bids_ Utilize Position Prefs

_ Split Test Landing Page Copy_ Improve Call to Action_ Experiment with Deep Linking_ Look at Bounce Rates_ Look at Cart Abandonment

IMPRESSIONS

CONVERSIONS(Sales/Leads)

CLICKS(Site Visits)

Add Keywords to get more impressions

Optimize your ads to get more clicks

Optimize your landing page to get more conversionsCR

CTR

Page 36: WordCamp Phoenix 2012 Google Adwords PPC Keyword & Campaign Strategy

QUESTIONS?

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Scott Yacko - [email protected] - @scottmyacko

Jonathan Kressaty - [email protected] - @kressaty