avvo webinar: search engine marketing q&a with mark kelly

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Search Engine Marketing Q & A Session February 27th, 2014

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Page 1: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

Search Engine Marketing Q & A Session

February 27th, 2014

Page 2: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Introduction

• Mark Kelly, President & CEO, Chair 10 Marketing– SEM & SEO Agency– Serve Clients Across the United States and Canada– Special Emphasis on Internet marketing for attorneys– 9 year-old agency

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Page 3: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

What is SEM (Search Engine Marketing)?

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Page 4: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

What is SEM?

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Page 5: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

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Is SEM Right for Your Practice?

Page 6: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Is SEM Right for Your Practice?

• It depends on …– Your Practice Area(s)– Your Budget Available for SEM– The Status of Your Website– Your Ability to Track SEM Results

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Page 7: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Do you have enough marketing budget?

• Every ad click costs the advertiser (that’s you) money• A Daily Ad Click Budget has to be set

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Page 8: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

SEM Monthly Budget Estimate

Estimated Cost Per Lead

$10 Average Cost Per Click Example

• Average CPC (Cost Per Click) = $10

• Daily Ad Click Budget: $50

• $50 x 30 days = $1,500 Monthly Ad Click Budget

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• $1,500 Spent Divided By $10 Per Click = 150 Website Visitors Per Month

• 15% Ad Click to Lead Conversion Rate

• 150 Visitors x 15% Conversion Rate = 22.5 new leads per month

• $1,500 Spent Divided By 22 Leads = $68 per lead

Page 9: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

SEM Monthly Budget Estimate

Estimated Cost Per Lead

$5 Average Cost Per Click Example

• Average CPC (Cost Per Click) = $5

• Daily Ad Click Budget: $25

• $25 x 30 days = $750 Monthly Ad Click Budget

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• $750 Spent Divided By $5 Per Click = 150 Website Visitors Per Month

• 15% Ad Click to Lead Conversion Rate

• 150 Visitors x 15% Conversion Rate = 22.5 new leads per month

• $750 Spent Divided By 22 Leads = $34 per lead

Page 10: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Is Your Website Ready for SEM?

• Your Website needs to be ready to convert SEM ad clickers to leads

• First impressions are key• Establish trust, make it clear how to contact you

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Page 11: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Poor Site Example for SEM Ad Clicks• No clear

headline that says ‘Denver Divorce Lawyer’

• Phone number is above-the-fold, but not in prominent location

• No online contact form option

• Why they are unique does not stand out

• No 3rd party support

• Pictures of their attorneys personalize the landing page

• Website has a professional look and feel

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Page 12: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Good Site Example for SEM Ad Clicks

• Clear headline that says ‘Bankruptcy Lawyer’

• Phone number is prominent

• Online contact form option

• Why they are unique stands out

• 3rd party support

• Pictures of their attorneys to personalize page

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Page 13: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

How Get Your Website Ready for SEM?

• Improve Your Existing Website By Adding Targeted Landing Pages for SEM

• Unbounce Landing Page Platform (www.unbounce.com)

• Create New Website– Avvo Ignite is a great option (ignite.avvo.com)

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Page 14: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Are You Able to Track SEM Results?

• To track leads specifically from SEM, you need:– Online Form Tracking– Call Tracking

• “Flying Blind” without tracking is not an option

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Page 15: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

What is Online Form Tracking?

• Online Form Tracking in Google Adwords

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Page 16: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

What is Call Tracking?

• Call Tracking Number, Dynamically Placed Into Website Only for SEM Visitors

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Page 17: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Call Tracking Options

• IfByPhone• CallRail• Some call tracking platforms are only available

through SEM agencies (Marchex Voice Services)

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Page 18: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

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SEM Pitfalls to Avoid

Page 19: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

• You have to track the leads you get from SEM spending in order to optimize

your SEM activity on an ongoing basis and make sure it is paying off

Tracking

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200

40

10

$2,000

$50 CPL

$200 CPA

Avg. Profit Per New Client = ?

20%

25%

SEM Visitors

SEM Leads

SEM Clients

($10 CPC)

Page 20: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Turn Google Display Network Off

• Example of what NOT to let happen …

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Page 21: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Establish High Enough Daily Budget

• Why? Your ads have to be seen frequently enough to be clicked on.

• Google Adwords requires you to set a daily ad click budget

• Example:– $10 Average Cost Per Click– $20 Daily Budget– Google Adwords gets “stuck/confused”

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Page 22: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Keywords – Start Narrow & Focused

• Why? Because your ad click budget will be limited. Don’t waste money on untargeted ad clicks.

• Keyword Choice– Don’t advertise on general searches for “lawyer” or “attorney”– Advertise on more targeted searches for “bankruptcy lawyer” or

“divorce attorney”– Include variations of keywords related to what you do

• People search in very unique ways: 20% of searches Google sees in a given day have not been seen in the last 90 days

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Page 23: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Keywords – Match Types

• Negative Keywords

– Add negative keywords (like –basketball or –running) to tell Google and Microsoft SEM systems to not show your ad for searches related to basketball shoes or running shoes

– Very important when Broad match is used

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Match Type Keyword Ads may show on searches for

Ads won’t show on searches for

Broad tennis shoes buy tennis shoestennis shoe lacesrunning shoestennis sneakers

Broad Match Modifier +tennis +shoes tennis shoesbuy tennis shoesbest shoes for tennis

running shoestennis sneakers

Phrase “tennis shoes” red tennis shoesred tenis shoestennis shoes today

shoes for tennisTennis sneakers

Exact [tennis shoes] tennis shoestenis shoes

red tennis shoesbuy tennis shoes

Page 24: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Set Geo-Targeting

• You want ad clickers who are most likely to convert into a lead. Typically these are people local to your office or offices.

• So only show your ads to these people.

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Page 25: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Set Geo-Targeting

• Real example of company trying to sell a book online (written in English)

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Page 26: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Set Geo-Targeting

• Target by city or metro area

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Page 27: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Set Geo-Targeting

• Target a radius around a map point

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Page 28: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Bid High Enough• Why? Because 83% of SEM ad clicks go to the top 3 ad positions.

Position of your ad on the page is very important.

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Source: http://searchenginewatch.com/article/2215868/53-of-Organic-Search-Clicks-Go-to-First-Link-Study

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Page 29: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Effective Landing Pages for Ads

• We’ve reviewed this already, but poor landing pages are often a major pitfall.

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Page 30: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Effective SEM Ad Text

• Descriptive and emphasize why you are unique.• Be specific - tell searchers you provide what they are

looking for.• Do searches and analyze your competitors SEM ads.• Good Ad Text

Denver Divorce Lawyerwww.samplefirm.com/divorce20+ Years Experience, Top-RatedFree Initial Consultation - Call Today

• Poor Ad TextDenver Divorce Lawyerwww.samplefirm.com/divorceOur attorneys can help with divorceand family law issues in Colorado

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Page 31: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Enhanced Google Campaigns• Google switched all campaigns to Enhanced on 7-22-13• Any new Google campaigns created today are Enhanced• This change is all about the huge growth in searches

being done from smartphones and tablets• What does “Enhanced” mean?

– Mobile• By default your ads are shown to smartphones• Take control, don’t let Google spend all your ad budget on irrelevant

smartphone ad clicks

– Location• You can alter your bids based on location

– Time• You can alter your bids based on time of day

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Page 32: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

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SEM Agency Selection Best Practices

Page 33: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

How To Select an SEM Firm

• Phone Meeting/Interview• Evaluate the Plan They Present for Your Practice

– Do they provide you with cost estimates and expectations regarding lead flow?

• Performance Tracking– Do they use call tracking?

– Do they use form tracking?

– Real-time lead notifications?

– How often do they send you reports?

• Get and Check References• Pricing

– Is it transparent and straightforward?

– Avoid long-term contract requirements

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Page 34: Avvo Webinar: Search Engine Marketing Q&A with Mark Kelly

© Chair 10 Marketing, Inc. (for reuse contact Mark Kelly – contact info at end of presentation)

Contact Information

• Free Consultations Always Available

Mark Kelly, President & CEO

[email protected]

(206) 529-4310 x101

www.chair10marketing.com

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