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Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~Herbert Simon

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Page 1: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Chapter EightTraffic Building

“A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.”

~Herbert Simon

Page 2: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Value and Scarcity Online

• Volume of online content is growing far faster than the number of Web users

Page 3: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Value and Scarcity Online

• Volume of online content is growing far faster than the number of Web users

• Every site faces unique challenges to attract new visitors

Page 4: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Value and Scarcity Online

• Volume of online content is growing far faster than the number of Web users

• Every site faces unique challenges to attract new visitors

• As Web users grow more experienced, they are less likely to explore new sites

Page 5: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Value and Scarcity Online

• Volume of online content is growing far faster than the number of Web users

• Every site faces unique challenges to attract new visitors

• As Web users grow more experienced, they are less likely to explore new sites

• The true scarcity online: user attention

Page 6: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Value and Scarcity Online

Page 7: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Planning for Maximum Traffic

• Drawing more visitors to a site requires a thoughtful web traffic plan

Page 8: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Planning for Maximum Traffic

• Drawing more visitors to a site requires a thoughtful web traffic plan

• Web traffic plans should consider each of the five main traffic sources:

Page 9: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Planning for Maximum Traffic

• Drawing more visitors to a site requires a thoughtful web traffic plan

• Web traffic plans should consider each of the five main traffic sources: – Branding decisions (e.g. domain name)– Search engine marketing– Affiliate networks – Online banner advertising– Publicity and word of mouth

Page 10: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Planning for Valuable Traffic

• Effective traffic plans assess the volume and quality of traffic generated

• Spotting broad use patterns through visualization tools helps calculate the cost and productivity of new visits

• Key tool for traffic-building analysis is cost-per-action: the number of visits that end in a particular action divided by the cost of the campaign

Page 11: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Graphic of “Cost-Per-Action”

At each stage, visitors decline and costs rise

Page 12: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic-Building Goals

• Basic goal: best traffic at lowest cost

• But how to define best traffic?

Page 13: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic-Building Goals

• Basic goal: best traffic at lowest cost

• But how to define best traffic?

Best Traffic with Least Cost

Maximum Profit

Minimum Cost-per-Action

Maximize Actions

Page 14: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic-Building Goals

• Profit guidelines that include web site branding; ignore ad branding impact:

– Spend on traffic sources that maximize difference between unified visit value and cost per visit

– No ex ante spending limit or volume target– Acquire traffic as long as the cost per visit is

less than the unified visit value

Page 15: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic-Building Goals

• Profit guidelines that ignore branding and all other impacts:

– Spend on traffic sources that maximize difference between customer lifetime value and web customer acquisition cost (i.e., customer equity)

– Acquire traffic as long as online customer value exceeds acquisition cost

Page 16: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Minimize “Cost-Per-Action”

• Rejects an “open-ended” approach to traffic building and “budget-driven actions” (e.g., “Maximize action” campaigns)– Instead, sets a volume target for some action &

seeks ways to achieve such an objective efficiently

• Number of unique new visits,• New registrations,• New customers, etc.

Page 17: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Search Engine Optimization

• Top placement in search returns is key to generating organic Web traffic (i.e., “Above the Fold” management)

Page 18: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Search Engine Optimization

• Top placement in search returns is key to generating organic Web traffic (i.e., “Above the Fold” management)

• User’s willingness to investigate falls sharply as items drop on the return list

– GoogleFight.com provides a fun example

Page 19: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Search Engine Optimization

• Improving search engine placement– Get indexed on main search engines– Develop meta-tags & content with keywords – Structure site content & navigation to

reinforce search engine algorithms– Cultivate links from appropriate sites (not

“link farms”)– “link:ford.com” shows all links whereas

“link:ford.com-site:ford.com” shows outside

Page 20: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Keyword Advertising

• Clickable, text-based ads bring in billions of dollars of ad revenue

• Ads steer traffic to an organization web site; fee charged only if click occurs

• Competitive bidding process determines a keyword’s value

Page 21: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Keyword Advertising

• Evaluating keyword portfolios– Identify a site’s most relevant keywords

– Test and expand list, based on conversion and click-through rates

Page 22: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Keyword Advertising

• Evaluating keyword portfolios– Identify a site’s most relevant keywords

– Test and expand list, based on conversion and click-through rates

• Bidding and tracking – Higher bids increase chance at higher keyword

position

– No click costs more than maximum bid

– Price charged depends on intensity of competition

Page 23: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Keyword Advertising

Max Bids Actual Price

.095 0.83

0.82 0.57

Yahoo! System

0.56 0.36

0.35 (0.10 minimum) 0.34

0.33 0.14

0.13 0.10

Page 24: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Keyword Advertising Assumptions

1. Desired action is a new customer & all customers have the same dollar value

2. Competitors’ bids are known & do not change in response to a firm’s bid

3. Ads are ranked by maximum bid (i.e., Yahoo! format)

4. Test market information showing click-through and conversion rates are known for each ad position

Page 25: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Step 1: Proper Keyword Positioning

• Cost-per-action can be found once you have the min. bid for each position and the conversion rate for each position

CPAk(n) = bk

(n) ÷ CRk(n)

• Then, knowing the “click-through”…

E(π) k(n) = (V - CPAk

(n)) × CTRk(n) × CRk

(n)

• Profit = Margin*Traffic*Conversion Rate

Page 26: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Step 2: Choosing Keywords Based on E(π)

• If the desired position is j for keyword k, then the right bid is 0 or bk

(j)

• Rank all different keywords by CPA for the chosen position & buy following rule.

• Rule of Thumb:– Bid bk

(n) for all keywords with a CPAk(j) < V;

do not bid on the keyword otherwise.

Page 27: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic by Association

• In traditional advertising, marketers put a company’s message where consumers work, live, play

Page 28: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic by Association

• In traditional advertising, marketers put a company’s message where consumers work, live, play

• Same concept holds true online

Page 29: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Traffic by Association

• In traditional advertising, marketers put a company’s message where consumers work, live, play

• Same concept holds true online – Banner advertising – URL placement on shopping bags, billboards,

monthly statements– Sponsorship and co-branding

Page 30: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Higher Click Through

• Has been found to correlate positively w/– Bold colors– Top of page placement– Animation– Calls to action– limited frequency of exposure– Leader Boards over Full Banners

Page 31: Chapter Eight Traffic Building “A wealth of information creates a poverty of attention.” ~ Herbert Simon

Purchase of a Banner

• Avg. click-through in 2004 for non-rich media ads was .2% (i.e., .002)

• Avg. cost for a search ad in 2004 was $1.50

• For price per impression to equal the price-per-click, the CPM would have to be $3– .002 x $1.50 = .003/impression– .003 x 1000 = $3 per thousand