does adwords work? risk assessment of digital advertising

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Advertising is a risk And businesses with low levels of confidence are reluctant to take risks (I’ll get to the digital aspect soon)

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Page 1: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Advertising is a riskAnd businesses with low levels of confidence are reluctant to take risks

(I’ll get to the digital aspect soon)

Page 2: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Business sectors gaining confidence

Health and Community Services

Finance and Insurance

Transport and Storage

Hospitality (Accommodation, Cafes and Restaurants)

Sensis Australian Business Confidence Report 2015

Business sectors losing confidenceBuilding and Construction

Recreational and Personal Services

Manufacturing

Retail Trade

Wholesale Trade

Page 3: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Main concerns for businesses

18% Lack of work/sales14% Economic climate

8% Finding/Keeping staff*39% No Concerns

Sensis Australian Business Confidence Report 2015

Page 4: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Advertising is often first in line during budget cut

• Traditional advertising which is difficult to measure• Digital often not tracked properly

• No contact form tracking• No call tracking

• Poor ROI made unclear or data just not there

Page 5: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Business owners skeptical of digital

Most business owners are used to a certain standard of advertising.

• Digital is unfamiliar and unknown (don’t buy what they don’t understand)• Cannot physically see adverts (physical POD like paper and outdoor)• Digital agencies who haven’t changed their formats have burned clients

Page 6: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Sometimes, it just doesn’t work…

• General offering is not appealing• Website is from the 1980’s, just looks ugly, or poor usability• Products and/or services are not suitable in the online space

• Would Myer survive if they were online only?• Would Harvey Norman survive if they were online only?

• Not offering finance for high value purchases

Page 7: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

It can be tough online• Average conversion rate of websites are 2%-3%

• In reality for most businesses; that’s actually a really good conversion rate.

• Online advertising is saturated and competitive making CPM’s and CPC’s much higher.• Many businesses not willing to invest in an new/professionally designed website

Page 8: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

“Reality Check” – Working on 2% Conversion Rate

Outdoor Blinds – Average profit per job $800Average cost per click is $10.

$10 x 50 = $500$800 job profit - $500 advertising costs = $300 actual profit

Plumber – Average profit pre job $350Average cost per click is $25

$25 x 50 = $1250$350 job profit - $1250 advertising costs = a loss of $900.

The client would need a conversion rate of 8% before they made profit ($37.50 actual profit)

Page 9: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Outdoor Blinds client needs a marketing mix

• They run the risk of competitors flooding into AdWords and increasing the CPC• If they rely solely on AdWords, they could lose their only source of advertising• Multi-channel advertising spreads the risk.

• Client could test radio• Flyers to cafes, restaurants, and households in higher income areas• Could create business synergies with landscapers, designers and builders• Could also start investing in SEO (make hay whilst the sun shines)

Page 10: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

The MUST DO’s in digitalSearch (Pull)• Can the self-qualified search user take action now?• Clear call to actions (book now, call now, buy now, get a FREE quote)• Steer clear of “Learn More”

Display (Push)• Present the product/services in a helpful and informative manner• No information overload• Again, can the user take immediate action?

And track everything. No business/client owner will pull activity if they know it’s working.

Page 11: Does AdWords Work? Risk Assessment of Digital Advertising

Make yourself employable in digital

• Learn how to make a basic Wordpress website• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Jv47_VIBOQ (Very good step by step guide)

• Install Google Analytics• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DpRwouxW334

• Get basic tracking working on forms, links, buttons, etc.• https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEhZfefxn0E

• Learn the basics of search optimisation• https://moz.com/beginners-guide-to-seo

• Check out my blog posts at• http://doyledigital.com.au