5 Ways Display, Facebook Ads & Remarketing Will Open New Revenue Streams
By Benoît Gaillard, WSI - Switzerland
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ABOUT WSIGlobal Leader in Digital MarketingGlobal Knowledge. Local Results.
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• Provide advanced digital marketing solutions
• Businesses of all sizes and industries
• World’s largest network of Internet Consultants
• Service more than 80
countries internationally
• Industry winning solutions
• Corporate head office
in Toronto, Canada
ABOUT THE PRESENTER
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P R O F E SS IO NAL B A C KG RO UND
• FMCG Brand Management
• P&G, Coca-Cola/Nestlé
R E C E NT P U B L I CAT IONS & A W A R D S
• Digital Minds – Display and retargeting chapters
• Facebook Smart Advertising
M E M B E R SH IPS & C E R T I F ICAT ION S
• WSI Top Gun
/WSIBusinessPerformance
ch.linkedin.com/in/gaill
ardinternetmarketing
Why Should I Worry About Display
“99% of our top 1,000 clients are now running campaigns on the Google Display Network and YouTube.” Google Benchmarks and Insights)
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Why Should I Worry About Display
• 80% of time spent on line
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Search 5%
Commerce 14%
Communication(Email & IM)
27%
Social(community)
12%
Surf (content)
42%
SURF
SEARCH
SOCIAL
Open Up New Revenue Streams
• Support your prospect throughout the purchase decision cycle
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Awareness
•Increase visibility
•Targeted advertising
Compare
•Remain top of mind
•Communicate USP
Purchase
•Advertise a deal
•Personalized advertising
Display Placement Opportunities
• Banners on websites
• Gmail
• Blogger
• YouTube
• Yahoo
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Display Format : YouTube
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Before videos Beside videos
Beside videos
In the search results
In the search results
Display Format: Mobile
• More creativity leveraging geolocation, native app functionality, smartphonefeatures
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Product And Services That Are Not Searched For
• All men use razors, few search for it
• How do you get your innovation across?
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Why Should I Give You A Click?It Is Not About The Features!
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Thanks to adespresso.com for bringing this thought to life!
Connect emotionally
§
Pleasure of falling
asleep in freshly cut
grassBBQ with friends this
week. Welcome them
with a perfect grass
Insure your grass is always
impeccable
Your neighbour will
be jealous of your
perfect grass
2. Display Retargeting IncreasesROI Of Search
Do you spend on Google AdWords? You should spend on display retargeting!
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Easier To Bring Back A Visitor ThanTo Attract A New Visitor
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100 visits
5 customers 95 still thinking
Banners
Increase your search PPC ROI by > 40%!
• Focus on acquisition ROI 1:1• Spend to acquire new visits: 100 visits + 1$ per click =
100$
• 5% of visitors convert = 5 sales = 5*20$ profit = 100$ profit = breakeven
• Add retargeting ROI 1:2• 95% of visitors leave the website but keep on surfing
comparing offers
• Bring 10% of them back for a fraction of the cost = 10 visitors * 2$/click = 25$
• Convert 20% of visitors your brought back = 2 sales = 2*20$ = 40$ profit
• ROI total 1:1.4
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Why Is The Traditional Display Model Broken?
• For advertisers: buy all impressions at the same price independently from the value of the user targeted
• For large publishers: up to 70% of website inventory is not sold, 30% sold on ‘premium’
• For small publishers: no market place to sell their quality thematic inventory
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The RTB revolution
• For advertisers: • Buy impressions based on the value of a given
audience
• Increase your reach
• Better control of frequency
• Better CPM
• Personalization of message
• For publishers:• Maximize use of their inventory
• Always sell to the best price offered
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Acquisition 3rd Party Data
Engagement
score
STUDY
INCOME
LIFESTYLE
HOBBY
ADULT 25-45
TARGETED
AUDIENCEDATA SOURCE
MARKET INTEREST
DEMOGRAPHIC DATA
BUYING INTENTIONS
AUDIENCE PROVIDER
LOOK-A-LIKE
Nouveaux visiteurs
Acquisition Targeting
ANALYZE KEYWORDS
ON TARGET LANDING
PAGE
Leverage your
search insights for
display!
• Focus
• Exclusion
Nouveaux visiteurs
Acquisition Targeting By Category(Ron)
RON
YOUR TARGET INTERESTS
SPORT
TRAVELART
MATCH WITH WEBSITE
THEMATIC
Be Relevant!
Your Site
Geo-localized Advertising
Advertise to mobile users
within 5km of grill truck
Mobile app guides you to
the nearest grill truck
Retargeting RTB: Facebook Ad Exchange vs. Ron
106 -54% +184%
1CHF invested
CPMConversion
rate
‘Those strong results drove
increased spending online for
year-end sales.’
Picture Connects On Mobile
• 66% of social media usage happens on mobile
• Communicate in 5x10
• You scan vs. read a facebook/linkedin feed on mobile
• Pictures are the trigger to stop, engage
Picture Marketing: ExecutionMatters
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If you had invested 6000$ on one of those visuals, you would
have achieved:
Nb of fans Nb of social
actions
Picture Marketing - eCommerce
• Back to basics – show the product, show the offer
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GOOD BETTERNOT GOOD
Conversion Attribution
PAID SEARCH ORGANIC SEARCH DISPLAY REMARKETING SOCIALSEM Hors-Marque
SEM Marque DISPLAY REMARKETING SOCIAL
EXPOSITIONS
1ère 2ème 3ème 4èm
e
5ème Dernière SCORE EXP. CONV CAPANIER
MOYENLATENCE
24
47
11
31
29
52
33
30
41 5
2
5
5
2
2
1
1
1 32621
31954
27306
8262
8158
7047
4706
4448
4258
15.8%
15.5%
13.2%
4.0%
3.9%
3.4%
2.3%
2.1%
2.0%
€15,574,287
€5,623,525
€8,082,003
€2,809,245
€1,691,747
€1,574,267
€903,684
€840,784
€811,950 €197
€203
€194
€223
€207
€340
€205
€252
€477 0.56
0.53
0.50
1.76
0.64
1.88
4.22
2.12
1.56
% TOTAL
CONV.
INVEST BASED ON FIRST OR LAST CLICK? WHICH KPI TO ASSESS ROI?
Smart Retargeting – MeasureEngagement
46
43% Produit A
30% Produit B
27% Produit C
TIME SPENT
VALUE
FREQUENCY
REFERRAL
CRM
PAGE VIEWS
850SCORE
Smart Remarketing – Dynamic CPM
47
Engagement score
BID:
€3
BID: €2,1
BID: €1
690SCORE
735SCORE
850SCORE
Cross Device Tracking
• No cookie on Mobile devices
• Yet more and more search and surf on mobile
• Use predictive tracking and master Id
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Marketing Automation
• Personalize advertising banner
• Personalize website offers
• Trigger emails based on website behavior
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Are You Spending $ On Google AdWords?You Should Be Spending On Display!
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