email marketing strategies for modern recruiting and sourcing
TRANSCRIPT
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Email Strategies for Modern Recruiting and Sourcing Stephen Schwander & Ian Alexander
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Agenda
• Anatomy of an Email Campaign• Key Success Criteria• Lists and Segmentation• Offer• Creative• Conversion• Sourcing vs. Nurturing• Metrics• Client Examples• Q&A
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Anatomy of an Email Campaign
Types of Emails
• Individual Outreach• Auto-responders• Sourcing Campaigns• Nurture Campaigns
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Anatomy of an Email Campaign
Types of Emails
• Sourcing Campaigns• Nurture Campaigns
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Anatomy of an Email CampaignComponents
• Target list• Offer• Creative (subject/body/CTA)• Conversion pages (job descriptions/landing
pages)• Analytics
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CreativeOffer
Success Criteria40/40/20 Rule
• Response rate is determined by:• 40% target lists• 40% offer• 20% creative
Spend most of your effort getting the right offer (job) to the most responsive/interested target, THEN, focus on subject lines, CTA’s, email content
List
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Target List
• Home grown is always best• ATS• CRM Talent Pool• Talent Network• Recruiter emails
• 3rd party• Rent from reputable list brokers• Beware of “bought” lists
• Deliverability issues• Spam traps
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SegmentationTypical segmentation
• Location• Experience• Skills• Opt-in data• Past analytics (these candidates were
responsive to previous emails)
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OfferGo beyond the description. Think more completely about what you are offering:
• Chance at a job• Comp• Benefits• Career ladder• Community• Lifestyle• Self worth / purpose
Craft a compelling offer of one or two sentences that will form the foundation of your creative. Make them time-bound if you can. Offers will be different for different campaigns.
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OfferWhich would get you to respond?
• Option 1: Data Analyst II with great pay and benefits
• Option 2: A limited-time chance to work with some of the top data scientists for a cutting edge company in North Carolina’s beautiful and vibrant Research Triangle.
• Option 1: CEO for the #2 computer hardware and software manufacturer
• Option 2: “Do you want to sell sugared water for the rest of your life? Or do you want to come with me and change the world?”
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CreativeSubject lines
• 28-39 characters optimal (no more than 50)• You’re competing with hundreds of other emails• Be creative• Personalization boosts response• Remember your brand• Avoid spam triggers• Don’t forget “From” name – important tool to get email
opened• Test multiple options
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CreativeBody
• It’s a personal medium so be personable• Short text• Keep it simple for sourcing - Too flashy can suppress
response• Focus your email around your singular objective:
• Invite to apply• Join talent network• Start a conversation• Get a referral*• Keep in touch/inform• Gather more info
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Creative
Hi Mary,
I am looking for someone who is interested in a data scientist role working on some very exciting projects. This person would be a key member of the team and would be compensated accordingly.
Do you know anyone who might be interested?Click here to learn more about the role and to apply.
Regards,
Renny Recruiter
Short, focused, personal sourcing approach
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ConversionRules of thumb
• Be highly specific with CTA• Create CTA-specific landing pages
• Career site home page – Meh• Targeted career site subpage – Not bad• Landing page that mirrors email CTA and
allows you to track conversion rate – Bingo
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Sourcing vs. Nurturing• Sourcing campaigns
• Typically ad hoc• Invite to apply / Incite to reply• Drive qualified candidates to jobs
• Nurturing campaigns• Long term, often sequenced• Designed to keep candidates engaged
• Half awareness/half engagement• Reinforce brand• “Keep warm”
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Nurture Campaigns• Must provide value or candidates
will unsubscribe. Be creative• Discounts• Incentives for referrals• Free / low cost training resources• “How to Get a Job at this Company” eBook
(teach them what you’re looking for)• Relevant content to their interests• Surveys or links to candidate profiles where
they can update info/experience/qualifications• Employee profiles/accomplishments (targeted)• Company news
• No more than monthly to any one segment
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A Word About Spam Not a spam clinic, but:• Do not send mass emails unless you:
• Use an opt-in list• Clearly state the purpose of the email• Show the company name, address and phone• Have an easy opt out of future emails (unsubscribe)
• In Canada (CASL) you must have a positive opt-in to send the email, even the first one!• Use a system to retain the opt-in information – you have to be
able to prove you have it. • Use common sense
• Would you have an issue getting the email?• Don’t flood people’s inboxes• Stop sending emails when someone asks you to stop
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MetricsStart macro and then get micro
• Open rate• Measures interest in your offer/subject line• Average for recruitment/staffing 7.9% (increased from 3.9% in
2012)• Click rate
• How successful was your overall list/offer/creative at inciting action
• Average click rate 1.7%• Conversion rate
• How many “clickers” turned into applicants, downloaders, etc.
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Metrics• Percent hired
• Measure which campaigns result in the most hires• Deliverability
• How many emails bounced. Shows age and health of your list
• Email addresses churn at a rate of 25%-ish per year• % of unsubscribes (should decrease over time)• Regular email campaigns clean your list of
unreachable, uninterested members and increases overall response rates
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MetricsUse your metrics to plan campaigns
• Need to hire 250 store personnel fast?• (n) X (Click through) X (Conversion) = Expected Applicants• 50,000 X .17 X .03 = 255 applicants
Determine cost per applicant for ROI on list rentals• List = $250/M• 50k = $12,500• CPA = $12,500 / 255 = $49/applicant
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Case Study• Veteran Campaign – National
wireless company• Emails Sent:
347,178 (100%)• Emails Delivered:
330,825 (95%)• Opened Email: 160,412
(48%)• Clicked Link to Landing;19,052 (6%)• Bounced back: 2,494
(.8%)• Spam reported: 344
(.1%)• Unsubscribe:
5,644 (1.7%)• Signed Up Via Talent Network (Jan 5th-Mar 26th):
• 8,590 clicked “Join Talent Network” 2,502 completed (.75%)
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Case Study• Specialized Recruiting – Nursing (Large Hospital
System)• Sourced list and previous applicants• 300,000 emails sent• Landing pages created and managed• Campaign executed in 3 weeks over holidays• 1700 Nursing applicants ( .56%)
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Questions and Wrap-up
Learn about Talemetry CRM and Sourcing Solutionsand Recruitment Marketing Platform