secrets of social media marketing

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10 Secrets of Social Media Marketing Paul Gillin, Author The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer

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Paul Gillin's presentation from the Sept. 22, 2010 meeting of the AAF West Michigan. Please feel free to download

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Page 1: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

10 Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Paul Gillin, Author

The New Influencers

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Page 2: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Objectives ◦Create awareness for new mainframe

value proposition ◦Increase mainframe awareness with

college students Results

◦>250,000 views of first episode ◦Blog traffic increased 25x◦Analyst, press, blogger coverage

Page 3: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 3

The Media in Collapse

2001 2009 Change

Woman’s Day 1.61M 410,000 -74%Redbook 556,300 154,600 -72%Playboy 522,800 203,200 -71%Country Living 380,200 134,900 -64%Nati Enquirer 1.65M 591,300 -64%Reader’s Digest 750,000 270,000 -64%ESPN Magazine 54,350 25,200 -63%

US Magazine Circulation

1994

1995

1996

1997

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

0

10,000

20,000

30,000

40,000

50,000

60,000

70,000

US Newspaper Business

Circulation (000)

Revenues ($000)

Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57

Reduction in US newsroom staffs since 2001: 45%

Growth in NBC prime time audience, 2008: -14.3%

Age of average network evening news viewer: 63

Page 4: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 4

The Way We Were

• Message

• Impressions

• Reach & Frequency

• Retention

• CPM

• Recall

• Share of Voice

• Coverage

• Rate Base

Page 5: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 5

Half of Facebook members log on every day, after which, they they: Post 60 million status updates Upload 3 million photos Stay for 55 minutes

Over on YouTube: 2 billion viewers stop by every day And upload 24 hours of video each minute While using as much bandwidth as the

entire Internet used in 2000

On Twitter: There are 600 million searches daily 300,000 new members sign up each day 50,000 third-party applications ahve been

developedGoogle

New Media Facts

Somewhat nega-tive2%

Neutral16%

Somewhat positive47%

Very positive36%

Perceived ROI of the Com-pany's Social Media Activities

Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010

Page 6: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

InfluenceInversion

Page 7: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

The New Media Landscape

Marathon schedule http://bit.ly/waCMc

Shared bread pudding w/

@skydiver at Mother's. My life

is now complete.

How to Write a 1 Minute Video

Marketing Script

http://ow.ly/17xJE

I'm at Palm Beach International

Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach).

http://4sq.com/4GeLz0

Best press photos of

2009 http://om.l

y/fNhW

I can't find my good black

pants.

Comparing Top Chef Masters Restaurants

#topchef http://is.gd/8q4

hN

How To Get Well Prepared For The Website Creation. http://bit.ly/aTitVC

Page 8: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 8

1: Small Is theNew Big

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 9: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 9

Just One Guy

Estimated monthly traffic: 73,000

Google Indexed pages: 6,490

Alexis ranking: Top .12%

Inbound links: 850,771

Del.icio.us bookmarks: 1,776

New York Times citations: 115

Computerworld citations: 146

InformationWeek citations: 89

Newsletter subscribers: 150,000

Page 10: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 10

Where Would You Rather Stay?

It’s now cheap and easy to consult peers for

advice

Things will never be the same again

as a result

Page 11: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 11

No One Has to Listen Anymore

Page 12: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 12

2: You Are the Media

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 13: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 13

Be Useful – Or InvisibleA Google Search for “Personal Computer” Gives You…

Not a single computer dealer appears in the top 1,000 search results!

Page 14: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 14

Thought Leadership

Page 15: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 15

Link Love

Inbound Links

8000

16000

Websites With Blogs Attract97% More Inbound Links

HubSpot Analysis of 1,500 Websites

Page 16: Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 17: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 17

Blogging for Business

73 blogs

17 bloggers

600% jump in leads

Top quality

“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”

Rick Short, Marcom Director

Page 18: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 18

3: Be Helpful

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 19: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 19

No Middleman

Today, you can take your message directly to your constituents without relying upon media intermediaries

And why would you not want to

do that?

Page 20: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 20

Share Everywhere: Clickable Gurus

Goal Generate Leads

Tactic Build awareness by sharing domain knowledge

Metrics Unique visits; Online mentions; Referrals; Conversions

Results 2,000% increase in site visitors 300% improvement in buzz index50% increase in customers400% increase in ad billings

Page 21: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 21

Advise and Inform

Page 22: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 22

4: Tools Don’t Matter

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 23: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 23

Start With the Business

Business Goal Measurement Tactics Tools

Generate 30% More

Leads

Publish Six New White Papers

Initiate Monthly Webcasts

Sponsor Microsite on TechTarget

Build Targeted Twitter List (500)

Dedicated Monthly E-mail Blast

Promote To Trade Publications

List in Tech Directories

Hire Tech Freelancers

List Rentals Create CoTweet

Account Increase PR

Budget Hire E-mail

Marketing Firm Initiate Blogger

Relations Program

Goal Metrics Tactics Tools

Increase Webcast/White Paper Reg’s by 60%

Increase Traffic to WP Landing Pages 120%

Increase 800-Number Calls by 80%

Review and Revise

Page 24: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 24

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

LinkedIn

Blogging

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100%

Value of Each Social Media Platform

Least important 2 34 Most important

Mainstays of Social Media

BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010

Page 25: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 25

5: Tools Are Easy; Execution Isn’t

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 26: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 26

6: Know the Power of 130

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 27: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 27

The Power of 130

The average Facebook member has 130 friends, who each receive notifications of their network’s Facebook activities

Page 28: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 28

7: Match Voice To Platform

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 29: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 29

Customize the Message

Hey, Bobby:

Dear Robert:

Duuuuude!

@bob:

Page 30: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 30

8: Amplify

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 31: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 31

Before 2006 2007 2008 20090

100

200

300

400

500

600

700

800

900

1000

New

Cumulative

Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010

Social Media Adoption by Year, All Platforms

Page 32: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 32

Spread the Message

Corporate website

Feed Aggregator

Partner website

Email Newsletter

Page 33: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 33

AskPatty’s Syndication Wizardry

10M quarterly impressions

100-fold amplification of blog/Web content

CEO developing side business as automotive social media consultant

“My inbox is overflowing every day with people who want speakers, partnerships, training and certifications.”

-Jody DeVere, CEO

• Syndication partners include TwitterMoms, BlogHer, Parenthood.com, SheKnows

• Articles automatically posted to bookmarking sites, multiple Facebook fan pages

Page 34: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 34

9: Measure

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 35: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 35

You CAN Calculate ROI

• The lifetime value of a customer is $5,000• You send 50 tweets a month• This generates 1,000 visitors to your website• 2% of your website visitors become leads• 5% of your leads become customers• Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

Page 36: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 36

10: Have Fun

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 37: Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Page 38: Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Page 38

Thank you!

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin