google adwords

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Google AdWordsStrategy Introduction

AgendaQuick overview

Setting up a campaignOutperforming the competition

Monitoring your Adwords Agency

“I don’t click on the ads, no-one I know does…”

Google made

$21.000.000.000

on AdWords in ‘08

It fuels an entire industry

How does it work?

You bid to be shown on a search query

“If you show my ad when someone searches for ‘cell-

phones’ I’ll pay you €0.20 for each click on my ad”

Advantages

Targetted campaigns

Full control

Suits all budgets

Disadvantages

Learning curve

Easy to lose money

Competitive markets

A well run AdWords campaign makes your business blossom

Let’s set one up…… but first some terminology

AdWords Account

CampaignAd Group

Keyword Keyword

Ad Group

Keyword Keyword

Accountmanaging your payments

Campaignstargetting your audiences

Ad Groupssplitting up your audiences

Keywordsreaching your audience

Example:

YourPhoneShop.Com

iPhone3G

Apple 3G iPhone 3G

3GS

Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS

Keywords power your campaigns

but how do you find them?

Start with a question:What problem do I fix?

I help people buy cell phones

Now find synonyms

cell phones

Mobile phones

Smart phones

Cellular phones

Feed this list to the AdWords Keyword Tool

This returns popular keywords

Carefully select your keywords

buy cell phonescell phonecell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phone shopcell phone storecell phonescell phones dealscell phones planscellular phone storecellular phonescheap cell phone planscheap cell phonescheap cellular phonesdisposable cell phonesmobile cell phonesprepaid cell phonesprepaid mobile phonesrefurbished cell phonesunlocked cell phoneswireless cell phones

Hold on to those unrelated words

we’ll talk about those later!

Sometimes I help peoplebuy specific cell phones

iPhone 3G

iPhone 3GS

Apple iPhone

Blackberry Bold

Blackberry Storm

Blackberry Curve

Divide the list into logical groups

Focus on your visitors question

You’ll see this appear:Smaller groups in bigger

patterns

Big patterns (brands, synonyms,…)

These will form your campaigns

Small groups These will form your AdGroups

3 Keyword match types

Broad:Anything possibly related

Broad Matchexample:cell phone

Cell phone

Cellular phones

Satelite phones

Telephone

Phrase:Anything using this phrase

Phrase matchexample:

“cell phone”

Cell phone

Cheap cell phone

Cell phone plans

Cell phone shop

Phrase matchexample:

“cell phone”

Cell phones

Cellular phones

Mobile phones

GSM

Exact:Exactly these words

Exact matchexample:

[cell phone]Cell phone

Exact matchexample:

[cell phone]

Cheap cell phone

Cell phones

When to use which match type

Broad

Phrase

Exact

Find new keywords

Match specific queries

Key search queries

YourPhoneShop.Com

iPhone3G

Apple 3G iPhone 3G

3GS

Apple 3GS iPhone 3GS

Now for the hard part…

Ad Writing

95 Characters

Title (25)

Line 1 (35)

Line 2 (35)

Ad structure

Compelling headineWhy should they notice you?

What are your benefits?Why should they care?

What are your features?What do you have to offer?

Compelling headline (25)Benefits (35)Features (35)

Example

Amazing iPhone dealsUnlocked iPhones. Wholesale prices.Free & insured shipping. Order now!www.phonesRus.com/iPhone

Pre-Assembled HangarsPersonalized for your business.Built in 48 hours. Guaranteed.www.frisomat.com/hangars

What’s the competition up to?

Industrial BuildingsSolutions for Your Small Business.Business Begins Here. www.business.com

Industrial BuildingsIndustrial/commercial constructionspecialists. Design & build www.c21construction.co.uk

Quality Steel Buildings Agricultural Residential Industrialbarn storage garages business use www.pembs-steelbuildings.co.uk

Industrial BuildingsAll Kinds of Metal BuildingsGet an Unbeatable Quote Now!www.atlanticsteelbuildings.co.uk

Steel Buildings UK All types of steel buildingsNationwide Service - Instant Quote www.GarageQuotes.com/SteelBuildings

So what makes a winning ad?

I don’t know.Neither does your agency, nor anyone else.

But Google’s users do.Always test two competing ads.

Getting your costs down.AdWords Auction 101.

Shocking fact:The highest bidder doesn’t always end up on top.

Quality Score

Keyword, Ad & Query

Landing page

CTR

Other factors

QS Importance

CTR

Ad, Keywords

Landing page

Ad Rank

Advertiser 1:

Advertiser 2:

Advertiser 3:

€4,00 x 4 = 16

€3,00 x 7 = 21

€2,00 x 10 = 20

Cost CalculationCPC = Ad Rank P-1 / Own QS

Advertiser 2:

AdRank Advertiser 3

Own QualityScore

Advertiser 2:20

= €2,867

Advertiser 2:

Advertiser 3:

Advertiser 1:

20 / 7 = €2.86

16 / 10 = €1.60

Ad Rank P4 / Own QS

Don’t outbid the competition.Outmanoeuvre them.

Negative keywords

Disableunrelated searches

cell phone providerscell phone radiationcell phones plansdisposable cell phonesprepaid cell phonesrefurbished cell phones

Negative keywords

ProvidersRadiationPlansDisposablePrepaidRefurbished

Increases your CTR

Decreases wasted clicks

Landing pages

Google loves relevance

Visitors love relevance

The homepage:Is it really the most relevant page?

Probably not.

Find or buildrelevant landing pages

Again: What’s the competition doing?

Landing page:±10% of QS

Relevant ads

Continually test your ad copy

Found a better performing ad?Delete the other one, write a new one.

What to test?Headlines, benefits, features, display-urls

Drive up your ads CTR

CTR:+50% of QS

Wage a war of attrition

Optimize your keywords

Optimize your ads

Optimize your Ad Groups

Optimize your Campaigns

Never stop.Never surrender.

Monitoring your agency

Why hire an agency?

Keeping an eye on their work:

KeywordsDifferent match types

Use of negatives

Ads

Focussed ads with USP

Cobwebs

Landing pages

Ad Groups

Themed

Clear focus

Creation of new groups

Campaigns

Location / Language

Timing

Ad Extentions

Impression Share

Web Analytics

Bounce rates

Conversion rate

Non branded traffic

Other factors

Transparency

Communication

Excluding branded conversions

Talk is cheap.

Badly run campaigns expensive.

Thank you!

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